PDA

View Full Version : 300=kmh trap



JFC_danger
01-05-2005, 11:01 AM
a corsair has been trapped at 340 kmh,in game, is this right?

JFC_danger
01-05-2005, 11:01 AM
a corsair has been trapped at 340 kmh,in game, is this right?

JG5_UnKle
01-05-2005, 11:10 AM
I've managed 400+ with gear up too, not a problem....

JG53Frankyboy
01-05-2005, 11:17 AM
remember:
speedbar and cockpit gauges are reading IAS !
TAS (that you can read in all the books and charts) you can see at the "Ô┬┤comic" gauges in the no cockpit view ! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Willey
01-05-2005, 01:05 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/354.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/354.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/354.gif

NegativeGee
01-05-2005, 01:07 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by JFC_danger:
a corsair has been trapped at 340 kmh,in game, is this right? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yep, in a 300 zone. He was lucky to get away with 3 points on his licence and a sixty quid fine.

Chuck_Older
01-05-2005, 02:53 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by JFC_danger:
a corsair has been trapped at 340 kmh,in game, is this right? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

What were your test conditions?

Plane loadout?
Fuel quantity?
Altitude?
CEM on or off?
Proper use of engine controls?
Aircraft trimmed?
What map were you flying on?
Is this Indicated Airspeed (IAS) or True Airspeed (TAS)?

Many people read in a book, or hear somewhere "This plane could do 437 mph in level flight!"

And they assume that means that at any height, all day long, the plane could do 437 mph, which is flat out wrong to assume http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

AnaK774
01-05-2005, 04:29 PM
I believe he is talking about trapping plane to carrier

JFC_danger
01-05-2005, 11:29 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Chuck_Older:
[QUOTE]Originally posted by JFC_danger:
a corsair has been trapped at 340 kmh,in game, is this right? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

What were your test conditions?

Plane loadout? empty
Fuel quantity? 50%
Altitude? 10 mtrs
CEM on or off? ???
Proper use of engine controls? yes
Aircraft trimmed? yes
What map were you flying on? pearl harbour
Is this Indicated Airspeed (IAS) or True Airspeed (TAS)? tas

just thought 340kmh into arrester cables would cause something to give out , thats all
S!~.

Chuck_Older
01-06-2005, 07:17 AM
My mistake. I'm a car guy, when I read "trap" I think of 1/4 mile timing for top speed 'through the traps'


I wasn't in Carrier Ops mode http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif