PDA

View Full Version : 16:9



ednavar
12-01-2004, 03:32 AM
Dear Oleg,

thanks for having created such a great simulator and for all your continuous support - I hope it is bringing you something more than just stress and glory http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

And now going back to the usual "i want more hysteria"..

I've just bought a new 16:9 monitor and I was wondering if you were planning to add support to this ratio in the future releases of your software.

It is more close to how our vision works and it could greatly enhance the player experience. I understand it could be a great advantage over 4:3 users, so it could be a server selected feature or just for the offline play.

That's all. See you soon around here, S!

Ed

woofiedog
12-01-2004, 06:00 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif EdNavar... you did go and pick up the new monitor you had posted about a while back. Is it the same as you had in the picture?
Wow very nice.
I've got a 16:9 widescreen T.V. 34in and love it.
Football season is Mint... and I hardly go to the Movies any more unless it something spiecal.
Post a picture.

ednavar
12-01-2004, 06:23 AM
Yeap http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

That is the toy:

http://sharp-world.com/products/aquos/g-series_bottom/img/mainimg.jpg

http://sharp-world.com/products/aquos/g-series_bottom/spec_eu_a.html

the 32'' one. I've tried it with PF yesterday evening and it was reaaaly good; in 4:3 was like playing on a 24 inch monitor. I'll post a picture tomorrow.

S!

woofiedog
12-01-2004, 07:09 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/heart.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif My T.V. can be used both with 16:9 or 4:3. It has Regular screen, wide screen, zoom and widescreen zoom.
It's a Sony Wega... but for the computer that is Mint.
Can you use it for both... computer and T.V.?

BaldieJr
12-01-2004, 07:27 AM
You can play 16:9 aspect ratio.

What resolution do you intend to play at? I can post the conf.ini settings that will get you going.

ednavar
12-01-2004, 07:56 AM
That would be brilliant Baldie. I'd like to use it at its native resolution, 1,366x768 (yes woofiedog, you can use it for both tv and pc, it has a DVI).

But Baldie, would it stretch the normal image to that resolution? Because what I mean with 16:9 support is having a normal aspect proportion but a wider view area, something like having the wide POV displayed with the normal POV resolution.. not sure if I'm clear. Anyway, lets say "like Half Life 2 does" http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

BaldieJr
12-01-2004, 08:04 AM
No stretching involved http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Open up conf.ini and put replace the section titled "[window]" with these settings:

[window]
width=1366
height=768
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=0
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=0
Use3Renders=0

If this does not work, let me know and if possible post a screenshot so I'll know what I did wrong http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

ednavar
12-01-2004, 08:31 AM
Thanks Baldie! I can't wait to get home and try it!!

ednavar
12-02-2004, 01:52 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif SIZE DOES MATTER http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

http://www.fiorentin.com/misc/sharp.jpg

Thanx Baldie, the conf file worked seamlessly. I just had to use a utility, powerstrip (http://entechtaiwan.net/util/ps.shtm) to add the 1366x768 resolution to my ati card.

Thx Oleg, I shouldn't have thought that something was not already possible http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

Bearcat99
12-02-2004, 03:17 PM
Hmmmmmmm Now Im thinking.. I wonder if this will work on my 48' widescreen. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif It has a DVI input.

crazyivan1970
12-02-2004, 03:57 PM
That looks awesome man... Wife was just asking me if i want laptop for my birthday.... who cares about silly laptops http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

9th_Spitin
12-02-2004, 04:07 PM
Nice.

woofiedog
12-03-2004, 02:35 AM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gifBear... you should add the info BaldieJr posted for the screen resizing... to the Essentials page for when others go to set up their new screens.
Looks Great EdNavar! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

SeaFireLIV
12-03-2004, 05:19 AM
Yea, I was without a monitor for a few days so ran FB through my widescreen TV 21". I was pleased to note that the whole screen filled up in various modes.

Unfortunately, my tv must be ****, cos the resolution really low and refresh was only 65 and trying to play on it for any length of time, even sitting far away hurt my eyeballs. Not to mention it was a pain to get TIR working right with it!

Aaron_GT
12-03-2004, 07:08 AM
"Hmmmmmmm Now Im thinking.. I wonder if this will work on my 48' widescreen. Surprised It has a DVI input. "

If it does can I come round your house and play IL2 please!

GvSAP_Wingnut
12-03-2004, 11:06 AM
Hmmm... I'll have to try Powerstrip. I couldn't get size right with DVI input (stuff disappeared off-screen) so shot this using RGB - still looked great... 50" Panny RP-LCD:

http://www.2gvsap.org/wingnut/il2tv.jpg

IVJG51_Swine
01-22-2005, 03:35 AM
Do you lose much clarity with the 32 inch since your resolution isn't as crisp?

How does the refresh rate affect the gameplay?

WOLFMondo
01-22-2005, 08:22 AM
Wow! Gotta try this on my freinds projector and home theatre setup!

IVJG51_Swine
01-22-2005, 09:30 AM
I tried it as well but I can't see the advantage. It doesn't show you anything more then what you would nomally see. As a matter of fact when I ran the 1366x768 settings it cut out the top area of the screen and I saw less. I'm sure it's something that I did wrong...Any suggestions??? I have a 9800 pro ati card.
Thks

BaldieJr
01-23-2005, 03:28 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif You have to use powerstrip to set tell your card to render at 1366x768

Manos1
01-23-2005, 04:30 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BaldieJr:
You have to use powerstrip to set tell your card to render at 1366x768 <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Can someone explain how to do this ?

~S~

IVJG51_Swine
01-23-2005, 04:53 PM
BaldieJr can you clarify this???

With this type of 16X9 setup do you get the same screen that you would see with the normal 4:3 with additional viewing to the right and left that you would not normally see. Do you actually get a wider field of view with the powerstrip on a 16X9 monitor or is it just cropped a bit but nothing additional??? Thats the big question..

If you have some links to any instructions that would be greathttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Thanks http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Obi_Kwiet
02-02-2005, 05:07 PM
Baldie wins!

holy_one_2
02-02-2005, 05:28 PM
Yeah Baldie wins and..... sun is greenhttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif !!!!
Pacific Fighter actually don't have real 16x9 POV!!!!!!
And i suposed then Oleg's team right now just roling on the flor when reading this topichttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
Best Regards.

WUAF_Toad
02-05-2005, 02:38 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by holy_one_2:
Yeah Baldie wins and..... sun is greenhttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif !!!!
Pacific Fighter actually don't have real 16x9 POV!!!!!!
And i suposed then Oleg's team right now just roling on the flor when reading this topichttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
Best Regards. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

So can you tell me what's the real 16x9 POV is?

holy_one_2
02-05-2005, 05:43 PM
Toad just go there http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=63110913&m=1951099462 and read what i and Blackjack174 wrote.
Best regards.

WUAF_Toad
02-05-2005, 06:14 PM
Ah, I see. Maybe Oleg should fix it next patch.

FatBoyHK
02-09-2005, 11:17 AM
OK, so the 16:9 isn'tworking properly.... but, if my 16:9 monitor is a really big one, let's say a 30" LCD TV, I can get away with it by using a wide view on a 16:9 monitor, as if it is the normal view.... The object is big enough anyway.... the only drawback is, I can't zoom out anymore...

it would works for me, I rarely use wide view.

VF-51-Dart
06-26-2006, 02:56 PM
Drag an old topic up. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif I need some help. I'm looking at some 20.1" widescreen LCD monitors and want to know if this info posted by Bladie will work on that type of monitor as well. It's a Viewsonic VA2012wb 20.1" widescreen LCD with an 8ms refresh. One thing I've read about these LCDs is they only render 16million colors and this monitors optimal res is 1680x1050 @ 60hz. The in game view is stretched and not as crisp as my 21" CRT. I know I can't get to that same crispness with the LCD, but will fixing the size in the conf file help clear things up a bit more?

I was also looking at a Samsung 20.1" on Newegg with great gaming reviews. Any help for a novice LCD buyer on a budget would be greatly appreciated guys. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Ted_L
06-26-2006, 05:08 PM
Dart,

I use the Dell 2405FPW with a native res of 1920 x 1200 and the image is not stretched. That resolution option is not available in the setup menu and I have to use the config option to get the game to display it. With an LCD you should always use the native resolution of the monitor for the best image. If your monitor is a widescreen monitor and you use the native res you should not see a stretched image. It will just add the scenery to the sides that is normally not seen in 4:3. You will see black bars on the side during the load and menu screens, but inflight you will truly get that wide FOV.

There is a great forum for other wide screen games (http://www.widescreengamingforum.com) and how to get non supported games to go widescreen with methods similar to this. Sometimes it is just stretching, but in IL2/FB/PF case it is true widescreen.

Ted

crazyivan1970
06-26-2006, 06:50 PM
conf.ini file was follows:

[window]
width=1680
height=1050
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=0
Use3Renders=0



20.1" 8ms Acer

http://i3.tinypic.com/15s63nq.jpg

http://i4.tinypic.com/15s65h5.jpg

http://i5.tinypic.com/15s6643.jpg

http://i3.tinypic.com/15s6938.jpg

grifter2u
06-26-2006, 09:32 PM
ivan,

i thought that untill now you could only fill a widescreen monitor in il2 by having it crop the top and bottom, correct me if i am wrong on this. maybe this was fixed in one of the recent patches and i missed it ?

the simple test to confirm this is to set the video card (with or without powerstrip), and the il2 ini edit, and then have 2 similar sized monitors you simply swap the cable on ( a 4:3 19', and a 16:9 20' widescreen for ex)

i suspect you will find il2 still only crops the image for those widescreen resolutions, so in fact you have 2 blind spots compared to what others see (but it nicely fills your widescreen monitor)

crazyivan1970
06-26-2006, 10:44 PM
You lose some on the top and bottom. Not much. There is no true support for widescreen in IL2, just a work-around that pretty acceptable IMO.

Scen
06-26-2006, 11:58 PM
Originally posted by crazyivan1970:
You lose some on the top and bottom. Not much. There is no true support for widescreen in IL2, just a work-around that pretty acceptable IMO.

Sorry bud but I don't agree at all... It's not the proper aspect and it causes problems with your view big time.

VF-51-Dart
06-27-2006, 12:37 AM
Thanks guys. I went ahead and got the Samsung 204b and I gotta say it's gorgeous so far. It's not a widescreen either. Normal 4:3. I'm very happy so far with initial tests, but need to really "burn" her in over the next few days to make a final decision. Thanks again. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

BTW..nice image quality there Ivan.

Siwarrior
06-27-2006, 01:59 AM
Originally posted by EdNavar:
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif SIZE DOES MATTER http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

http://www.fiorentin.com/misc/sharp.jpg

Thanx Baldie, the conf file worked seamlessly. I just had to use a utility, powerstrip (http://entechtaiwan.net/util/ps.shtm) to add the 1366x768 resolution to my ati card.

Thx Oleg, I shouldn't have thought that something was not already possible http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/sadeyes.gif mummy.......daddy...........i know what santas gonna bring me this year http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

grifter2u
06-27-2006, 02:19 AM
Originally posted by crazyivan1970:
You lose some on the top and bottom. Not much. There is no true support for widescreen in IL2.

thx for the clarification

Codex1971
06-27-2006, 05:00 AM
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a362/CodexAssassin/DSC00773.jpg

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a362/CodexAssassin/DSC00774.jpg

http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

dbillo
07-01-2006, 05:47 AM
Originally posted by Scen:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by crazyivan1970:
You lose some on the top and bottom. Not much. There is no true support for widescreen in IL2, just a work-around that pretty acceptable IMO.

Sorry bud but I don't agree at all... It's not the proper aspect and it causes problems with your view big time. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Scen, if the conf.ini is edited correctly, it just crops the top and bottom of the FOV to fit. That's all! What are the problems as you see it?

waffen-79
07-01-2006, 01:00 PM
Originally posted by EdNavar:
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif SIZE DOES MATTER http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

http://www.fiorentin.com/misc/sharp.jpg

Thanx Baldie, the conf file worked seamlessly. I just had to use a utility, powerstrip (http://entechtaiwan.net/util/ps.shtm) to add the 1366x768 resolution to my ati card.

Thx Oleg, I shouldn't have thought that something was not already possible http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

OMG now that's what I call a screen http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/metal.gif

hey what the hell? I couldn't help but notice that you game Il-2 like a Falcon F-16, WTF d00d?

real immersion killer

Jarza_Death_Man
12-25-2006, 01:59 PM
Good looking screen,i only have Dell 2405 1920X1200.

wayno7777
04-24-2007, 03:20 PM
Originally posted by BaldieJr:
No stretching involved http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Open up conf.ini and put replace the section titled "[window]" with these settings:

[window]
width=1366
height=768
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=0
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=0
Use3Renders=0

If this does not work, let me know and if possible post a screenshot so I'll know what I did wrong http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif


Baldie, I have a 16:10 19" Acer. Native res is 1440 x 900. Can I just put 1440 x 900 in there? Duh! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif
I'll try that when I get home....

wayno7777
04-24-2007, 08:11 PM
Home now. Wow, no more oval reticles. Thanks, Baldie http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif....

Wurkeri
04-25-2007, 02:51 AM
Just tried Baldie's settings with a 22" Samsung (SyncMaster 225BW), worked pretty well. Thanks!

Lurch1962
04-26-2007, 06:43 PM
Gentlemen,
It's not truly correct to say that IL-2 doesn't offer 16:9 support. By being able to edit the conf.ini file, one has essentially *unlimited* aspect ratio support!

The only downside is this... because the FOV is always tied to the horizontal dimension of the display, with wider aspect ratios than the "standard" 4:3 there is some loss of the vertical view angle. In other words, some of the view at the top and bottom is clipped.

THIS IS COMPLETELY NORMAL.

If a new player were to start out with a wide screen and a properly edited conf.ini, he would be completely unaware that this loss is occurring (unless he stumbled into this mad house http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif)

The workaround that must be implemented in order to "regain" the lost portions at top/bottom is to:
1) either base the FOV on the vertical dimension,
2) or allow wider-than-90 degree FOVs.

Yes, as it is now the 4:3 set have a slight advantage with their larger view area angle-wise. A naive calculation reveals a 25% loss in vertical view angle, or 12.5% from the top and 12.5% from the bottom. This is the case for the narrower FOVs. But at wider FOVs, the radial stretching due to the gnomonic projection used by the game's display engine actually means this angle loss is somewhat smaller, at just over 20%.

At 4:3, the widest FOV is 90 x 73.7 degrees.

At 16:9, the widest FOV is 90 x 58.7 degrees.

58.7 / 73.7 = 0.796, or 79.6%.
100 - 79.6 = 20.4% smaller vertical view angle.

--Lurch--

Nimits
04-28-2007, 09:27 PM
With a TIR, a slight loss of top and bottom FoV would be incidental.

However, my real question would be do you lose any absolute viewing area. In other words, are you still able to pan in the vertical so that you can eventually see everything you could see with 4:3 (you just have to move more to see it), or do you actually lose 10% or so of the viewin area at the extreme up and down portions of the vertical axis?

Lurch1962
04-30-2007, 05:01 PM
Nimits,
At the wider FOV settings, I'm fully confident that one can still cover all areas by panning (with a hat or TIR), i.e, there will be no gaps in coverage.

--Lurch--