PDA

View Full Version : Duel Installs?



Lane_889
04-19-2005, 03:33 PM
Can I it be done on SH3?
Have a clean version no mods ?
And keep the one with all the mods?
I think I know the answer? No?
Because of Starforce?
Lane http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

U-49
04-19-2005, 04:09 PM
Perhaps if you installed SH3 on separate drives - either physical or logical?

OneTinSoldier77
04-19-2005, 04:44 PM
Hey, I'll let you know what I do with my games. It works fine for all of them. You'll probably be blown away at how simple it is. The only requirement for it is that you have enough Hard Drive space available.

First, you install and patch. So now you have a clean no mod installation of the game. Then you rename the 'SilentHunterIII' folder to something of your choosing... like say 'SilentHunterIII_no_mods'.

Then you make a new folder named 'SilentHunterIII'. Now you copy everything over from 'SilentHunterIII_no_mods' to your new(and empty) 'SilentHunterIII' folder. Then you install all your mods.

BANG! You're done!!

Whenever you want to run the 'no_mod' version of the game you simply rename the 'SilentHunterIII' folder to ''SilentHunterIII_mods' and then rename 'SilentHunterIII_no_mods' to 'SilentHunterIII' and vice versa when you want to run the modded version.

Pretty easy eh?

Cheers,

One Tin Soldier

Bulwark_
04-19-2005, 04:48 PM
That's a pretty good idea! Very simple.