PDA

View Full Version : How to trim and what is the "normal" view setting ?

rijnton1944
11-28-2004, 05:35 AM
As a newbie I have 2 questions:
1)When I am flying most of the times my plane tends to climb with the stick in neutral position. I already read somewhere that you have to trim the elevator then. However it's not completely clear to me how to do that. I see options for Negative, Positive and Neutral. Which options do I have to use for what purpose ? Especially the Neutral isn't clear to me.
And is it best to assign these to my joystick (Logitech Cordless Freedom) or is it better to leave it to the keyboard ?
2) What is the normal view setting ? Maybe a bit strange question for you, but I am also new with flight sims. I suppose it's a matter of taste, but do you "normally" fly in cockpit view or in external view ?

AlGroover
11-28-2004, 05:45 AM
I have positive and negative elevator trim bound to left and right mouse buttons with throttle control via the mouse wheel (MS cordless). With most other weapon and view controls mapped to the joysick (Saitek Cyborg evo) in combination with mouse view, I rarely have to use the keyboard.

Tully__
11-28-2004, 05:59 AM
Any aicraft will only fly level without control input at one speed. If you want to fly at any other speed, you either have to hold constant control input or "trim" the aircraft by changing weight distribution or the balance of the control surfaces.

Because it can be hard to move cargo around in flight, most aircraft are equipped with adjustable tabs on the trailing edge of the control surfaces that allow the pilot to change the "at rest" position of the controls. All you need to do is play with the negative and positive trim controls until you don't need to hold the joystick at the speed you wish to fly and you're "trimmed" for that speed.

----