PDA

View Full Version : Cant Install assassin's Creed :S



ThePunisher1210
04-27-2008, 01:20 PM
hey my names shaun look i bought assassin's creed the other day and have tried bout 30 times to install and each times about 2 3rds of the way through it comes up with an error and it never goes away, can some1 help me because im gettin rather fed up with this and so far the game is **** to be fair because it wont even install!!.

ThePunisher1210
04-27-2008, 01:20 PM
hey my names shaun look i bought assassin's creed the other day and have tried bout 30 times to install and each times about 2 3rds of the way through it comes up with an error and it never goes away, can some1 help me because im gettin rather fed up with this and so far the game is **** to be fair because it wont even install!!.

caswallawn_2k7
04-27-2008, 01:24 PM
try the help forum

jeremyofmany
04-28-2008, 07:38 AM
Some basic information about the error you are getting would be helpful.

gillesibub
04-29-2008, 04:34 PM
I got the game two days ago, and I have the same issue, with the installation getting about 2/3 of the way through (Jerusalem files, in Cab4 on the dvd, to be precise), and then it gives me a CRC error and quits. I've checked the disc and swapped it out at the shop, but nothing doing when it comes to the next attempt.

I'm a patient man, and I'm proud to say that I normally manage to find my own way out of these sorts of things, but it's beginning to do my nut.......

BTOG46
04-29-2008, 05:24 PM
Sounds like a drive conflict with the game, it does come with a warning about that.
You could try and see if there's a firmware update for your drive, or try a speed control like Nero DriveSpeed or CD-Bremse to slow the read speed of the drive down and see if that helps it read the files better.

BlindNero
04-29-2008, 06:31 PM
@ ThePunisher1210 and gillesibub: the game is a dual layer DVD. Check if your DVD player is able to read dual layer dvd's.

gillesibub
04-30-2008, 11:40 AM
Well, I checked the spec of my optical drive and, just like the rest of my machine, it was eminently capable of performing the expected tasks. I have DriveSpeed installed as part of the Essentials package, so gave that a whirl this morning, still no dice, even after several attempts.

Eventually, the dark winter of the soul came about (ie, I had to leave for work), so I took the disc with me and tried it on some of the machines in my shop, only to watch it stall and die for exactly the same reasons at exactly the same place, over and over again, so I gave up, went back to Gamestation (directly across from my shop) where I bought it/swapped discs yesterday, and swapped the disc for a second time, got home, clipped DriveSpeed to slow it to a crawl, messed with DEP in Vista since that can sometimes disable memory-fetching for some tasks and cause read/write under-runs etc, and set about trying it one last time for good old Blighty.

And it only bloomin' worked! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Mephile94
01-12-2010, 08:12 AM
look, i alreaDY did so install the game, but it
jamms just after the game's intro, so me neither can't play, can anyone help me?

caswallawn_2k7
01-12-2010, 08:14 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Mephile94:
look, i alreaDY did so install the game, but it
jamms just after the game's intro, so me neither can't play, can anyone help me? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
read me. (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/4721051016/m/3201086257)