PDA

View Full Version : Any hints or tips on how to fly the BF109?

XyZspineZyX
08-25-2003, 12:30 AM
Had my first online-attempt today, and for some reason i did really bad. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

What i really want to know is what tactic should i apply as i fight the ruskies in a BF109? What can i do with the plane?

I've allready discovered that i should avoid low alt fighting since most russians seem to have little problem quickly outclimbing me and gaining an altitude advantage.

Dive, hit hard, and then use the extra speed to quickly place myself above my opponent seems to be the best i can figure out so far.

I'm new at this. Appriciate any good advice.

XyZspineZyX
08-25-2003, 12:30 AM
Had my first online-attempt today, and for some reason i did really bad. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

What i really want to know is what tactic should i apply as i fight the ruskies in a BF109? What can i do with the plane?

I've allready discovered that i should avoid low alt fighting since most russians seem to have little problem quickly outclimbing me and gaining an altitude advantage.

Dive, hit hard, and then use the extra speed to quickly place myself above my opponent seems to be the best i can figure out so far.

I'm new at this. Appriciate any good advice.

XyZspineZyX
08-25-2003, 12:40 AM
Well, first , the 109 isn't a turn fighter.
Except the f versions, you will easily get outurned, this plane is created ONLY for BnZ.
Fly fast, attack in dives(450-500km/h) and get back up before your oponente finds out what happens.
Allways climb.
If you're in trouble, get into a spiral climb, soviets, will loose all their speed trying to reach you.
Don't turn! If you do have to do it in vertical
Always keep the fights on your terms.
Don't engage in long horizontal fights, keep the fight vertical.
The best plane for a 109 beginner, is IMO, the 109G2.
Fast enough, maneuvrable enough, with sufficient firpower.
Here are some BnZ tips: