PDA

View Full Version : Planes Don't Bleed Energy in Turn?

VF2_Tim
11-15-2004, 10:27 PM
Two planes meet head to head. both at full throttle. One keeps a straight line and blows straight through. Other plane makes max G 180 and falls in behind the other plane for a shot?

A max G turn should totally kill the turning planes speed. Or, if the turning plane did a low load wide turn, by the time they got turned around 180, the straight flight plane would be parked outside the officer's club at his home base AND be on his second beer.

I'm no flight engineer and, admittedly, I'm not a very good pilot either but it seems to me that these planes aren't bleeding energy in a turn like they should.

Before I get a flood of 'depends on the plane and the situation' replies, I'm speaking generally. Shouldn't almost any fighter that holds a course at top speed outstrip another fighter that it just passed in level flight going the other way?

heywooood
11-15-2004, 11:25 PM
Planes will fly a turn you know...if you do it right, you can bend a 180 without much bleed...

now if you see alot of wingtip vortices then there will be significant energy loss, but a smooth, high energy turn is possible...in fact, it is a required skill.

I am sure there is a track of a good, high energy 180 out there somewhere..

NimbusPlus
11-15-2004, 11:54 PM
The thing is "a max g turn". So we have a max g turn, level flight (maintain altitude), full throttle. As I see it, since you're pulling a lot of g's, that means the a/c is weighting a lot. That means that, since you maintain level flight, the wings are creating a lot of lift (to compensate the weight). A lot of lift means a lot of (induced) drag. In the end, you're getting a lot of drag, so I would say yes, your airspeed is going to decrease pretty fast.