PDA

View Full Version : Will 4.0 fix the RN Corsair Markings?



VW-IceFire
04-11-2005, 06:19 PM
http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/imgs/faa.jpg

Be nice if this little graphical mixup was fixed. Seems numbers were used on RN Corsairs no matter which theater they were in (ETO or PTO).

JG53Frankyboy
04-11-2005, 06:27 PM
remembering a discussion with oleg about german markings in IL2 times , thats ancient http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif , i doubt it !

tascaso
04-11-2005, 06:39 PM
Aces fixed that with MAT Manager!

TAscaso

aipilotmarkone
04-11-2005, 07:17 PM
http://www.airwarfare.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=365
Aces' Artwork/Naturalpoint: MAT Manager v2.20 Available
Download Link - Full IL2-MAT Manager v2.20 installation (appx. 29 MB)
http://www.leigh-kemp.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/IL-2MAT_and_IL-2_MAT_Manager_V2.20_Installers.zip

Download Link - version 2.10/2.11 to version 2.20 UPGRADE (appx. 8 MB)
http://www.leigh-kemp.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/MAT_Manager_v2_10_to_v2_20_Upgrade.zip

Online Documentation for version 2.20
http://www.leigh-kemp.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/IL2-MAT_and_IL-2%20MAT_Manager_Readme.htm

VW-IceFire
04-11-2005, 07:20 PM
I can't get it to work...nor does it work (I'm told) online. So...not a solution. Every time I bring up a problem with markings...Mat Manager...but it doesn't solve all problems. Unfortunately, Oleg seems to put these things very low on the priority list. Sometimes they should be higher.

theOJ
04-12-2005, 07:06 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Unfortunately, Oleg seems to put these things very low on the priority list. Sometimes they should be higher. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

For what its worth, I agree. I'd also love to see the undersized markings on the late Mustangs and Jugs addressed. I wonder how big a job that really is?

VW-IceFire
04-12-2005, 05:54 PM
I didn't realize they were undersized...interesting.

Lots of issues like these around when it comes to markings. Hopefully in BoB, they have a new system that is more sophisticated and accurate right from the start.

Chuck_Older
04-13-2005, 05:17 PM
The USAAF P-51D markings are still wrong, even though you get a 'proper' default skin in Pacific maps, and the 'proper' numeral code, the ETO default skin (from the 8th Air Force's 361st Fighter Group) also carries a number- incorrectly, as well

Although some Mediterranean Theatre units used numbers (like the Tuskegee Airmen) others definitely used the RAF code system, just like ETO units


Since this has been around for ages (I used to drag up the bug thread in ORR a lot but I gave up- for now!), i doubt any marking will get fixed on ANY airplane

VW-IceFire
04-13-2005, 06:09 PM
Yeah....not seemingly very high on the priority list. I understand that they aren't able to accomodate every variation and minor change around which is fair enough but I'd love if they were able to get it right for the vast majority of cases and then we can use the custom skins and whatnot to cover the special occasions.

I think they have gotten British aircraft markings right a total of two times. And it wasn't even done on British aircraft...it was the Tomahawk Mark II and the Corsair Mark II and IV when used on European maps. Even then, there's some question as to the use of letter codes when the RN tended to use number codes no matter what theater. Meanwhile the Spitfires have hideously bad coloring for the RAF markings there...at least the finflash is the right type if only improperly colored. Its just very messed up...like they didn't pay attention to these things much at all. Or squadrons (total lack of Canadian 400 series squadrons). Only when the modeler who built the plane was really gungho and included the marking details.

The most accurate markings in the game are the first two airforces that they ever did. The Luftwaffe and the VVS. They don't account for all possible variations but they cover the vast majority of them. Everything else is half way done. I guess other people gripe about FM and DM modeling...I come from a more visual tradition, I wish the markings were as accurate as the flight modeling was and I figure that getting the markings right would be so much easier.

So it doens't surprise me that the Mustangs aren't more accurate and I did indeed miss the three letter codes on most of the aircraft in the ETO.

*sigh*

We've got things so good in other areas...these things seem like simple fixes but thats just me http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

tascaso
04-13-2005, 07:50 PM
It works!It works!It works!It works!It works!RTFM!

T.Ascaso

heywooood
04-13-2005, 09:16 PM
Aircraft markings ~sigh~

It is a pain to have to try not to notice them.

Mat manager helps - but it really doesnt cure the problem...

I have started a Finnish offline campaign because I am not familiar enough with their markings to be distracted by them, and their russian adversaries planes seem to be marked correctly in all cases....besides - the J8a with skis on the winter Finland map is fun.

You know - I had a buffet stall on takeoff for the first time ever...getting to about 100kmh near lift off and the jouncing on the runway caused the motor to quit....it wouldnt restart right away either...almost ran off the end of the runway...I had to cycle through the mag settings and try to restart...I think it was flooded. After the third try it started up.

Called the flight and told them to loiter until I could catch up...I love the **** planes and I think the J8a is the king of ****.

HotelBushranger
04-14-2005, 11:32 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>I can't get it to work...nor does it work (I'm told) online. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

It does work online.
http://img105.echo.cx/img105/8489/controlpanel6ns.jpg

As you can see, there is a UBI and a HL option. When you click that option, then launch, Il2 MAT enables the markings you customized to be used online. I've used other people who have MAT with their own markings. But I don't think you need to have the HL/UBI option checked, because when I checked the FB option, it still works online.

Hope I've explained it properly http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

Edit:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>I had to cycle through the mag settings and try to restart...I think it was flooded. After the third try it started up. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

How do the magnetos work? I've set buttons for them, but don't seem to need them anywhere, including the biplanes with dead engines, I just press 'I' and after a coupla tries it works.