PDA

View Full Version : The Impossibility of Hitting a Speeding Small Tanker...



ImmunityZ
04-08-2005, 01:35 PM
Perhaps some of you hardcore guru's can help me out with my dillema.
After installing the 1.2 patch I finally decided to bite the bullet and learn manual aiming (up until now I've been using WP).
Well, I don't seem to have a problem hitting targets that aren't moving, but as soon as speed factors in, my shot solutions are next to useless. EVERY single solution I plot ends up going BEHIND the target instead of hitting at least the back end of it.

Take for example the small tanker that starts out to the east of you in the Torp Training Mission.
I set myself up for a 90 starboard shot, calculate its speed to be roughly 7kts (varies from 5-7 on my measurements, but I'm pretty sure its 7.) Set tubes 1/4 to 6 meters depth, fast speed, 2 degree spread. The distance to it being roughly ~750 meters. I wait till gyro hits 0, fire, miss behind the target by a few meters. Try firing BEFORE its 0 still miss behind it. Try firing at roughly 10, still miss behind it. What's going on?
Am I usin the protractor correctly? Click on my ships nose, the other ships nose, then angle the line towards its bearing. The numbers seem right to me, yet I can't hit the bastard.

On a sidenote, how do you guys update your data so fast? Assuming you're not set up for a 90 degree shot, you have to recalculate the AOB/Range as you and the target are constantly moving. By the time I get range and AoB, the range and AoB has changed by a good margin, in effect rendering my data useless. Tips?

Frederf220
04-08-2005, 02:02 PM
Small tip, the TDC assumes the torpedo is away the second you hit the button. If you don't pre-open the torpedo tube prior to launch there is a delay which will translate to a late-arrived torp.

I use manual tweaking of the data via manual input for last minute corrections.

Using the datapad method, once you have it all filled out, you must press the check box to translate it to a final gyroangle.

The TDC odd also does this odd auto-keep-your-data-up-to-date thing that I haven't quite figured out, if you're not on manual input the periscope bering is tied to the bug angle and the AOB will precess at some rate given speed and range.

panthercules
04-08-2005, 05:41 PM
I've had pretty good luck my last couple of missions (ok - not last time - Spring 1940 duds and premature detonators shut me out last time, but the couple of times before that) by manually setting up the shot on the TDC dials ahead of time for the shot that I plan to take - i.e., I've gotten to the right point off the beam of the target's course, and as I track the ship as it approaches, I set up the range, AOB, bearing, speed etc on the TDC dials as I expect them to be when the ship reaches the point I want to fire at - then I open the tube doors and wait till the ship reaches my predetermined firing point, then "torpedo los" - (in other words, based on plotting our respective courses over a few observations, I decide that I'm going to be able to fire when the target is at (say) bearing 350 deg, AOB starboard 80 deg, speed 7, range 700m - I set all that data into the TDC (along with depth and pistol settings etc), and then watch through my 'scope and as soon as the ship reaches a bearing of 350 deg on my scope I hit the fire button)

If you have the time to set up the shot unmolested by escorts and stuff, like on your typical single ship sighting, and have maneuvered to the right spot, it works great.

bat05
04-08-2005, 10:08 PM
I approach the target on the surface and close to (400 to 600 m) the AOB is preset to intercept tgt course when it is evading.Torpedoes are set to fast. when I see the AOB I have preset, I unlock the tgt and lead 5 to 10 degrees.Taking it down with one shot is not unusual.Oh, reset the range as the tgrt enters the final turn. A workable approach is from the rear and AOB set to 105 stbd or 260 port.

Mr_Nakajima
04-09-2005, 01:59 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Frederf220:
Small tip, the TDC assumes the torpedo is away the second you hit the button. If you don't pre-open the torpedo tube prior to launch there is a delay which will translate to a late-arrived torp.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I had an entire patrol where I was tearing my hair out because of this - every single shot I took just clipped the stern of the target before disappearing off into the distance http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif

So open the tube doors BEFORE pressing the fire button!

Pr0metheus 1962
04-09-2005, 02:07 AM
Also note that after you've plugged in all three numbers, you need to hit the check box one more time to put the data into the computer. At first I kept forgetting this final step and all my eels would go behind the target.