PDA

View Full Version : Netcache and custom skins



jjtasker
06-14-2006, 11:38 PM
Been flying a lot of coops with the same group of guys using custom skins. Some of the guys are having trouble getting the skins to load. I know you can pull skins from the cache and save in a planes folder, but is it possible to "pre cache" skins by pre loading them in the cache? Is there a pattern in the numeric naming convention in the cache?

I'd like to take the 4 or 5 skins we use and pre load them for both our own planes and the AI.. is the net cache naming convention unique or does the same skin end up named the same in everyones netcache?

jjtasker
06-14-2006, 11:38 PM
Been flying a lot of coops with the same group of guys using custom skins. Some of the guys are having trouble getting the skins to load. I know you can pull skins from the cache and save in a planes folder, but is it possible to "pre cache" skins by pre loading them in the cache? Is there a pattern in the numeric naming convention in the cache?

I'd like to take the 4 or 5 skins we use and pre load them for both our own planes and the AI.. is the net cache naming convention unique or does the same skin end up named the same in everyones netcache?

dbillo
06-15-2006, 04:15 AM
Apparently, you can, and yes, the skins are named the same in everyone's netcache. Here are a couple of threads on it by people who have done the grunt work:

http://forums.ubi.com/groupee/forums/a/tpc/f/45410763/m/4521012803


http://forums.ubi.com/groupee/forums/a/tpc/f/63110913/m...381018024#9381018024 (http://forums.ubi.com/groupee/forums/a/tpc/f/63110913/m/9381018024/r/9381018024#9381018024)

vocatx
06-15-2006, 11:06 AM
I fly co-ops almost nightly with the same group of guys. The mission designer e-mails us the skins for our aircraft, as well as AI aircraft. We install them into the correct skins folders and they load when the co-ops starts. Works great if you know the folks you're flying with.