PDA

View Full Version : Odd question: Use wheel pedals for rudder?



eobet
06-06-2004, 12:13 PM
Hello!

I have a Logitech Wingman Extreme joystick, with twist handle, but unfortunately, something is wrong with it, because the input from twisting is very inaccurate (it's been this way from the beginning, actually, but I never returned it).

But I also have a Logitech Formula Force steering wheel, so now I am wondering if it would be possible to use the pedals from the wheel for rudder controls instead of the handle twist?

I'd have to plug both the wheel & joystick in the USB ports at the same time, and I don't know if Sturmovik supports this or not.

Does anyone have any experience with this, before I throw myself head first at the task?

eobet
06-06-2004, 12:13 PM
Hello!

I have a Logitech Wingman Extreme joystick, with twist handle, but unfortunately, something is wrong with it, because the input from twisting is very inaccurate (it's been this way from the beginning, actually, but I never returned it).

But I also have a Logitech Formula Force steering wheel, so now I am wondering if it would be possible to use the pedals from the wheel for rudder controls instead of the handle twist?

I'd have to plug both the wheel & joystick in the USB ports at the same time, and I don't know if Sturmovik supports this or not.

Does anyone have any experience with this, before I throw myself head first at the task?

Inadaze
06-06-2004, 12:47 PM
I use some destiny wheel pedals for rudder. Il2 supports multiple input devices so there's no reason your pedals shouldn't work. You can set them up in the hotas section of the input devices in FB. If the pedals and wheel take ID1 on your game controlers you may have to set up the joystick in the hotas section as well.

You can edit the conf.ini to change the stick settings of any devices that are not ID1. Do a search on multiple input devices in the forums, there's a thread somewhere that describes what to change.

S! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/blink.gif Inadaze

eobet
06-06-2004, 02:05 PM
Aah, it's when you anticipate the worst that you most often get gladly suprised!

I just plugged my wheel in, went to the hotas section, as you said, and pushed down on a pedal, and voila!

Smooth flying again! Thanks.

Inadaze
06-06-2004, 06:32 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by eobet:
Aah, it's when you anticipate the worst that you most often get gladly suprised!

I just plugged my wheel in, went to the hotas section, as you said, and pushed down on a pedal, and voila!

Smooth flying again! Thanks.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

No Probs http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif It took me a while to get used to pedals, but its worth it. I tried flying with my twisty joystick rudder yesterday and found I was waggling my feet instead of using the sticks rudder, so I guess that means I've got used to em http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

S! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/blink.gif Inadaze

XyZspineZyX
06-06-2004, 07:54 PM
Is this possible within Win98SE? I have an X-45 USB and a Logictech GT wheel/pedal combo that is gameport.

(I know, I know....Stone Age technology but it's what I have at the moment.)

http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/9334/Image6.jpg

Inadaze
06-06-2004, 08:32 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Beebop_54:
Is this possible within Win98SE? I have an X-45 USB and a Logictech GT wheel/pedal combo that is gameport.

(I know, I know....Stone Age technology but it's what I have at the moment.)

http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/9334/Image6.jpg <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

It should work. it's dependent on IL2 rather than the operating system. My pedals are old gameport ones too.

The only trouble I had was my pedals want to be ID1 so I had to set up my stick in the hotas section and modify my conf.ini for its settings. You'll know if this happens cos your wheel will be controling pitch and roll instead of ya stick.

Good luck http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

S! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/blink.gif Inadaze

LEXX_Luthor
06-06-2004, 10:55 PM
I recently got the non force fed Logitech Forumula GP wheel with pedals and...well just read on... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

It was 40 DOLLARS at Circuit City so anybody can have rudders. And they said if it does not work with my game, return it no problems--I never returned it. It plugs into the racing wheel with phone line, and the wheel you plug into USB port in computer. I just put the wheel under the desk inside a plastic bag out of the way, and stand it on the wheel so it never rolls around.

With Windows XP I never needed to install the software. Works great out of box as is no software needed.

Good stiffnes, good press depth. Don't Fear the two pedals looking different, they feel the same and they feel good.

Like all racing wheel pedals they are closer together compared to the over 100+ dollar rudder pedals made for flight sims, and you feel like a dork with your feet together (I have fairly small feet those with very large feet may not like it and want something to really KICK).

These are my first rudder pedals, and I took to them naturally on first try (* once I got joystick working see below). On first try at strafing ground targets, I could keep lined up on target--I never could do that before using other non~rudder methods.

* I had the same setup thing happen as Inadaze, but its not a problem just the joystick becomes the secondary HOTAS and you can put your fave stick settings in "conf" file as Inadaze says.

All for 40$ http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/heart.gif

__________________
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gif Flyable Swedish "Gladiator" listed as J8A ...in Aces Expansion Pack

"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

Tully__
06-07-2004, 02:12 AM
The only hitch you may run into is that the pedals need to be seen by IL2 as a single axis. Some pedals' drivers set them as two axes by default and you'll have to use the pedals software to reset them as a combined axis for IL2 rudder use.

I had a TM Modena 360 wheel/pedal set plugged in for a while, but stopped using them. It didn't seem right to me to be able to have two rudder pedals pressed at the same time http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)
Tully's X-45 profile (SST drivers) (http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/fb.zip)

Salut
Tully

eobet
06-07-2004, 02:33 AM
Yes, I need to go into the control panel and change my split axis setup every time I want to play Live For Speed (best driving sim out there, imo *shameless plug*).

I also had already set up IL2 for my joystick, so when I plugged in my wheel, it automatically became "ID2", I guess, so I never needed to edit any config files.

Plug joystick first, and setup IL2, exit, plug in wheel, and then continue to setup Hotas, and you'll be fine.

tHeBaLrOgRoCkS
06-07-2004, 02:43 AM
Thanks for the info guys I think I may have a stab at this when I get home S!

Malik_VII
06-07-2004, 03:25 PM
Tried this with and old Saitek 440 wheel. It worked fine after I changed the axis thingy. But the left pedal would stick so I took them back to exchange them and the store sent all the other ones back to Saitek http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/cry.gif Thought about the Momos but wasn't sure if they would work.Plus they are $20 more

willyvic
06-07-2004, 06:00 PM
I use a MS force feedback wheel and pedals. The pedals for rudder and the wheel mounted sideways on my desk as an elevator trim. Just turn off the force feedback and it works like a charm.

http://www.geocities.com/mompeepers/willyvic/mig3u.jpg

BZB_FlyingDoc
06-08-2004, 05:44 AM
Hi.
I have the Simped Pedals for Control.
Your can look here (http://shop3.webmailer.de/cgi-bin/ePages.storefront/DE/Catalog/373012).
Its very nice.
http://shop3.webmailer.de/isroot/ePages/Images/373012/373012-1228131.jpg

Udidtoo
06-08-2004, 05:56 AM
I too use the logitech wheel/pedals for rudder pedals.Actually mine are the PS2 variaty( daughter No 2 feels she has outgrown vidio games so my gain)

Only problem I have ever had was minor. For some odd reason when I set up in HOTAS, I have to press right rudder 1st. If I forget and press left 1st I get full left rudder, no right rudder what so ever.

So, anyone that ever bought the GT wheel to play Gran Turismo on a PS2 your already the owner of pedals, they are usb plug same as the PC version.

..............................
I always have just enough fuel to arrive at the scene of my crash.