PDA

View Full Version : Dot size question



mashkis
04-10-2007, 07:25 AM
Is there a way to change the dot size on the screen in the config file?

I have a 22" monitor and running at 1600x1200 and I cannot see any airplane until they are very close. I have been reading the previous posts but I have not found a work around this issue.

Thanks.

mashkis
04-10-2007, 07:25 AM
Is there a way to change the dot size on the screen in the config file?

I have a 22" monitor and running at 1600x1200 and I cannot see any airplane until they are very close. I have been reading the previous posts but I have not found a work around this issue.

Thanks.

-HH-Quazi
04-10-2007, 07:38 AM
I don't think you can change the size of the dot, but, you can change the distance at which you are able to see it. I think 15km is the default distance. I may be wrong though. Open your rcu file inside your game folder with Notepad and see. Not sure if increasing the distance will help. But it may be worth a try.

ytareh
04-10-2007, 02:50 PM
Anybody got more info on this?Ive gone from 1280x1024 to 1024x768 in the last month and found it so very much easier to spot enemy aircraft in the distance

hamselv2
04-10-2007, 03:14 PM
The basic dot size problem is described in the initial part of this thread:

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/63110913/m/1621033425

I run the game in 1920x1440 on a high quality SONY 21'' CRT monitor (0.22 dot pitch) and I have a hard time seeing distant planes ('Perfect' settings, and AF=16x), but I don't want to switch overall image quality for a lower monitor resolution.

T_O_A_D
04-10-2007, 03:36 PM
IIRC the game was optimized and built to be played in 1024x768

mashkis
04-11-2007, 06:57 AM
so, I guess there is no work around this issue. Nothing that we can change in the config file or apply a modified patch?

grifter2u
04-11-2007, 08:41 AM
mashkis,

i dont think there is anything you can edit about it, probably as a cheat protection.

the il2 "aircraft dot" you see is in fact a 2 pixel sized dot, and therefore the "dot size" is determined by pixel size (pixel size is determined by the monitor resolution setting)

like an earlier poster stated, the small dot size is probably a leftover "feature" from the initial il2 game being programmed for CRT monitor users who use a 1024 x 768 setting.

sadly for lcd users who use a much higher resolution than crt users, the il2 dot can be significantly smaller, creating a very unequal and unrealistic playing field.

Te_Vigo
04-11-2007, 09:22 AM
The RCU file is for storing user commands which can be called ingame from the SHIFT+TAB keys.
It can be edited directly by opening it with notepad.

SHIFT+TAB brings up the console and from there iirc, type in mp_dotrange and press enter to view the default or modified host/ user settings.
There is a specific entry that can be edited for FOE or FRIENDLY dot distance/ + any of the icon appearing distances ID/ NAME/ RANGE etc.(for those that use them).

default dot popin distance is 14km