PDA

View Full Version : riven won't start up



bikecrash88
05-15-2007, 07:41 PM
i bought the myst 10th anniversary edition. i just finished myst1 and was hoping to do riven. so i install. everything goes smooth. then i restart my pc like it tells me to. then i try to run riven and something goes not so smooth.
anyway i double click on riven and the following little image apprears
http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/6999/rivenzw5.jpg
other than that nothing happens. i have installed patch 1.02 and nothing changed. i really want to play this game lol

bikecrash88
05-15-2007, 07:41 PM
i bought the myst 10th anniversary edition. i just finished myst1 and was hoping to do riven. so i install. everything goes smooth. then i restart my pc like it tells me to. then i try to run riven and something goes not so smooth.
anyway i double click on riven and the following little image apprears
http://img201.imageshack.us/img201/6999/rivenzw5.jpg
other than that nothing happens. i have installed patch 1.02 and nothing changed. i really want to play this game lol

gnorke
05-16-2007, 07:13 AM
Hi bikecrash,
Welcome to forums. What version of Quicktime are you using. I believe Riven doesn't work with any version over 6.3. Check cd for quicktime. It is the one you want to use.

If anyone else reads this. I believe I am right but correct me if I'm wrong.

bikecrash88
05-16-2007, 11:22 AM
uninstalled whatever version of quick time i had, installed 6.3 from the DVD. restarted pc installed patch 1.02 and nothing changed. anyone got some other ideas?

Heimdall_G
05-17-2007, 12:11 PM
Try running Riven using Windows Compatibility Mode. See How to use the Program Compatibility Wizard in Windows XP (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;301911) and How to Use Windows Application Compatibility Mode (http://www.microsoft.com/technet/prodtechnol/winxppro/maintain/apcompatmode.mspx) for details.

bikecrash88
05-17-2007, 06:11 PM
both of you guys. thanks a lot. it finally works. XD so i'm off to play some riven.