PDA

View Full Version : DEVS!!!! You don't know your River DE from a A&B DD??? Geeesh!!



TheRealWulfmann
05-14-2005, 10:05 AM
I am the first to say this is a great game and the devs did as good or better a job than any game I have played out of the box.
But, this is a major screw up.
The River class DE which was actually a Frigate anyway was not the ship modeled in the game. It was a compltely different ship with one stack, different hull 2 single 4" guns etc etc.
The ship you call a River class is actually the A&B destroyer class. These were built around 1930 and were very active at the beginning with 2 being sunk in a gallant defence of HMS Glorious from the notorious twins while another falling to Ad Hipper at Barents Sea. It is great we have this nice model so can you please edit this and give us this a an A&B eliminating the River class (or replacing it with, I don't know, how about a RIVER CLASS!!!!!)
I have copied the river files and renamed them NDD_A&B and double checked everything but it causes CTD when I click on it in the museum. So, tell me what needs to be editied in your files so I can add this now or do it your self but please make this right. It will not take much to correct this and give us escorts early sorely lacking. I am sure you will correct this. Imagine using the Revenge model as the KGV, that is what was done here to destroyer people!!!
Wulfmann

TheRealWulfmann
05-14-2005, 10:05 AM
I am the first to say this is a great game and the devs did as good or better a job than any game I have played out of the box.
But, this is a major screw up.
The River class DE which was actually a Frigate anyway was not the ship modeled in the game. It was a compltely different ship with one stack, different hull 2 single 4" guns etc etc.
The ship you call a River class is actually the A&B destroyer class. These were built around 1930 and were very active at the beginning with 2 being sunk in a gallant defence of HMS Glorious from the notorious twins while another falling to Ad Hipper at Barents Sea. It is great we have this nice model so can you please edit this and give us this a an A&B eliminating the River class (or replacing it with, I don't know, how about a RIVER CLASS!!!!!)
I have copied the river files and renamed them NDD_A&B and double checked everything but it causes CTD when I click on it in the museum. So, tell me what needs to be editied in your files so I can add this now or do it your self but please make this right. It will not take much to correct this and give us escorts early sorely lacking. I am sure you will correct this. Imagine using the Revenge model as the KGV, that is what was done here to destroyer people!!!
Wulfmann

panthercules
05-14-2005, 10:28 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by TheRealWulfmann:
IImagine using the Revenge model as the KGV, that is what was done here to destroyer people!!!
Wulfmann </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

LOL - looks like the SH3 devs took a page out of Oleg's book for Pacific Fighters - at least they got the country part right over here though. From what I've seen over on the IL-2/PF forums it appears that Oleg's folks got tired of modeling ships and/or ran out of time/money and used British BB types for the American BBs in the Pearl Harbor scenario missions (haven't been able to verify that myself - just flew a few carrier landings in PF and then decided to switch over to SH3 while waiting for the next PF patch, so haven't done the Pearl Harbor thing yet)

Can you imagine what a firestorm that would have created over here if the Arizona was showing up in Scapa Flow? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

TheRealWulfmann
05-14-2005, 10:46 AM
The thing is we are missing using the A&B early while we have the Hunt early and that should not be the case.

In CFS3 I beta all the ships by Greg Law because I am an anl pain in the ars but make sure things are right. I ask for people to check my stuff and we all need extra eyes to catch things.
Who the frell was doing the beta testing to miss something this far out that could so easily have been seen by Stevie Wonder running through Walmart?
Still, SH3 is a great job by these devs but this is almost funny as a real SNAFU!!!!
Wulfmann

Jace11
05-14-2005, 11:31 AM
Dunno what you would need to change. Basically the Sea folder contains the files for ships, their textures, all the values for speed etc. If however the name is embedded in all these files it may not be possible to rename.

One thing you may have missed is the roster folder. The ship will not exist unless you add it to the British Roster (and other countires that use it, FreeFrench and Canadians). Then you would physially need to add it to a mission and if you wanted it in a campaign you would have to edit the SCR and RND layers to change every entry of River to A&B etc.

But all this may not work if the name is embedded elswhere. However Serg has made new ships (see subsim mod forum) and merchants so, I guess you stand a good chance of fixing this if you wish to.

TheRealWulfmann
05-14-2005, 11:36 AM
No, I did not miss the roster but, as you said, it must be embedded in one of those renamed files but how to get to it (what editor and where in that file) is the big question.
If not, I will leave them as River class DE and change the names and dates to the A&B so it will appear at the start, as it should, but still be wrongly labeled "River Class DE"
I have posted over at the site and asked Serge for ideas. Stay tuned
Wulfmann

Nubarus
05-14-2005, 11:37 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by panthercules:
From what I've seen over on the IL-2/PF forums it appears that Oleg's folks got tired of modeling ships and/or ran out of time/money and used British BB types for the American BBs </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Oleg's folks didn't model any ship for PF, it was all done by 3rd party modellers.

Aeronautico
05-14-2005, 12:22 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Nubarus:
Oleg's folks didn't model any ship for PF, it was all done by 3rd party modellers. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Where do you get this from?!

It's actually the other way around: there are so few models in the game because ALL the 3rd party ones were modelled wrong, and Oleg's team had to do them all over again in order to use them in the game, and of course these were fewer than planned.