PDA

View Full Version : 46 and IL2MatManager



Phil_C
11-21-2007, 10:53 PM
I must be missing something....

I have read the threads on how to get it to work with 46. I had it working on my old computer with no issues. But for the life of me (and it must be a simple error on my part) I cant get it to work on this new one.

I started with the 2.33 full install, and uninstalled it, then installed the 2.34, and all the following updates till i got to the 2.36 final update...

i have the renamed exe file in the 46 folder, and i have the MatMan looking for it.

I get the matmanager to save out and quit, but when i get in the game, i dont have the updated markings.

What step did i miss? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

Phil_C
11-21-2007, 10:53 PM
I must be missing something....

I have read the threads on how to get it to work with 46. I had it working on my old computer with no issues. But for the life of me (and it must be a simple error on my part) I cant get it to work on this new one.

I started with the 2.33 full install, and uninstalled it, then installed the 2.34, and all the following updates till i got to the 2.36 final update...

i have the renamed exe file in the 46 folder, and i have the MatMan looking for it.

I get the matmanager to save out and quit, but when i get in the game, i dont have the updated markings.

What step did i miss? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

timholt
11-21-2007, 11:02 PM
Try this, its a one step download and what to do with config.ini etc

http://mission4today.com/index.php?name=ForumsPro&file=viewtopic&t=2078

T_O_A_D
11-21-2007, 11:04 PM
Edit: too slow, by two minutes, good link http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/agreepost.gif


Been a awhile, but do you still need to do this?

Add this line to your config.ini in the IL-2 folder:

ClearCache=0

E.G

[il2]
title=Il2-Sturmovik Forgotten Battles
hotkeys=HotKey game

[window]
width=1024
height=768
ColourBits=32
DepthBits=24
StencilBits=8
ChangeScreenRes=1
FullScreen=1
DrawIfNotFocused=0
EnableResize=0
EnableClose=1
SaveAspect=1
Use3Renders=0

[GLPROVIDER]
GL=dx8wrap.dll

[GLPROVIDERS]
Open GL=Opengl32.dll
DirectX=dx8wrap.dll

[NET]
speed=8000
routeChannels=0
serverChannels=31
localPort=21000
remotePort=21000
SkinDownload=1
serverName=
serverDescription=
remoteHost=
localHost=
socksHost=
checkServerTimeSpeed=1
checkClientTimeSpeed=1

[MaxLag]
farMaxLagTime=10.0
nearMaxLagTime=2.0
cheaterWarningDelay=5.0
cheaterWarningNum=-1

[chat]
region=(dx=0.6923828,dy=0.102864586,x=0.0,y=0.0)
adr0=ALL
msg1=<timeleft

[game]
Arcade=0
HighGore=0
mapPadX=0.6689453
mapPadY=-0.046875
viewSet=35
Intro=0
NoSubTitles=0
NoChatter=0
NoHudLog=0
NoLensFlare=0
iconTypes=3
eventlog=eventlog.lst
eventlogkeep=0
ClearCache=0

Skycat_2
11-22-2007, 12:35 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Phil_C:
I cant get it to work on this new one.
</div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Is the OS "Vista"?

Phil_C
11-22-2007, 02:27 AM
yup.. home professional.

and im fighting the stupid security settings, to keep the "read only" checkbox unchecked..
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif

Aces_High_2
11-22-2007, 02:34 AM
Hi chaps,

Phil_C please see my posting to this thread with step-by-step info on removing read only from folders.

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/9491037606/p/3

Hope this helps,

Best regards

Aces

Phil_C
11-22-2007, 04:52 AM
hm, i still must be missing something:

I just tried your tip Aces, but it didnt work.

I read that there could be an issue with having 46 installed in the Program Files directory, so i uninstalled, and reinstalled to a more "root" directory...


and the read only box still wont stay unchecked...
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

Skycat_2
11-22-2007, 12:03 PM
IL2-MAT Manager shouldn't be installed to Program Files either. If it is, Vista won't allow the MAT changes to be recorded.

There is a way to disable the additional protection that Vista puts on Program Files items through the User Account Control. I don't know how to do it though. Easiest fix/precaution is to not let anything IL-2 related get installed into Program Files.

I don't know what to tell you about the boxes being highlighted; mine are also for the cache folders but IL2-MAT Manager works fine for me.

Edit: See my 'Updating 1946' link in my sig; there is an offshoot link to advice by Demon (of Uber-Quick Mission Generator fame) on how to deactivate the UAC.

Skycat_2
11-22-2007, 12:17 PM
Phil,

The properties on my Cache folder looks like this:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v62/Skycat/CacheProps.jpg

As I said, MAT-Manager works for me.

Skycat_2
11-22-2007, 12:46 PM
Another screen capture to show where I have things installed:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v62/Skycat/MATmanager.jpg

The window to the right is just to show that the MAT-Manager core program has configuration files that are updated when you save your changes. If Vista is not allowing the overwrites to happen, I'd guess that this is why the new MATs aren't appearing in the game. That's why I have IL2-MAT manager installed outside of the Program Files folder.

(Don't mind the blacked-out areas; they are programs that are unrelated to IL-2 so I just covered them over. Privacy for me, simplification for you. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif )

Haigotron
11-22-2007, 03:15 PM
an embarassing mistake I kept making was not respecting the capital Cs in ClearCache=0.

I kept writing it all in lowercase http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

and yea, my properties folder for Cache and Regiments still has the square just like in the above screenshots, but now they have mat files loading in them properly!

thanks alot everyone

Phil_C
11-22-2007, 10:47 PM
I have both IL2 and MatMan on the C drive under a Ubisoft directory... not in the program files.

My properties for the entire paintschemes folder looks the same as yours, and i just checked if i had the caps in ClearCache... which i do

SO i think im going to do another clean install directly on the C drive, in only one folder... gr this is getting frustrating http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/touche.gif

Phil_C
12-05-2007, 07:42 PM
Well im not sure what did it, but after 2 clean installs outside the program files directory...
IT WORKS! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/clap.gif

Thanks for all the help, and hopefully others will not be stuck in the same situation.

Skycat_2
12-05-2007, 08:10 PM
Cool. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif