PDA

View Full Version : Game wont start up for PC at all, I got it off steam!



Sacmo77
12-01-2009, 04:48 PM
Anyone else having this issue?


I know its not my system

SPecs:
Core i7 920
Dominator gt ram 6 gigs
1000 psw
2x XFX 5850 Black edition ATI cards.


I am thinking its a steam problem....anyone else ?

Sacmo77
12-01-2009, 04:48 PM
Anyone else having this issue?


I know its not my system

SPecs:
Core i7 920
Dominator gt ram 6 gigs
1000 psw
2x XFX 5850 Black edition ATI cards.


I am thinking its a steam problem....anyone else ?

nickbarnes8
12-02-2009, 05:52 AM
I am having the same problem...i waited forever for it to download last night and to my surprise, when i tried to launch the game through steam, that little game launching steam pop-up (whatever you want to call it) popped up for a split second and went away, but the game did not launch someone plzzzz help!!

nickbarnes8
12-02-2009, 07:50 AM
i called Ubisoft help line today a little while ago, because apparently steam doesnt have a helpline?!?!...but the guy at Ubisoft couldnt help me so idk what to do now

DariusD
12-02-2009, 07:55 AM
Did you install the latest August 2009 DirectX yet?

See http://forums.ubi.com/eve/foru...531064908#7531064908 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/6391049957/m/2261004908?r=7531064908#7531064908)

Melius
12-06-2009, 11:30 AM
I am so frustrated. THIS GAME DOES NOT WORK. If you are reading this and contemplating buying this game then DO NOT. IT IS INCOMPLETE AND BUGGY. Ubisoft have released an unfinished game. When I called their tech suipport they told me that this game will not run on a i7 chip, which really is a lot of bullcrap. This game is not running on many systems. I got it from Steam and have asked for a refund and they have never replied. For all you guys who are getting the same run araound let's organize and show our collective outrage at Ubisoft. They are so quick to take the money and then they deceive us. Post everywhere you can and stop people from buying the game. I stopped two people from buying it at Futureshop already (they were at the counter waiting to pay and I was there with other purchases. I told them about the bugs and they removed it from their purchases). Let's all take this action. It's the only way to stop this nonsense. The hours I have lost trying to follow the suggestions in the forums are lost forever. HOURS MAN. HOURS. GIVE ME MY MONEY BACK

Replicators
12-06-2009, 09:48 PM
Most reasons for crashings at this time are due to having your audio card dishing out higher than 48000Hz. To change this in vista, go into control panel and click "Sound", Highlight Your Speakers, and click "Properties", then go to the advanced tab and bring down the dropdown menu, select either 16-bit 48000Hz, or 24-bit 48000Hz and your game should run fine.

CrazyProphet71
12-07-2009, 02:33 AM
anyone know how to change that sound setup to 48000Hz under windows XP SP3 on a asus M3n78 ?? my game dont start .... black screen after the "title" thx

xdantespardax
12-07-2009, 10:21 AM
Have you contacted Steam support? If Ubisoft can't help surely Steam should look into it.

xdantespardax
12-07-2009, 10:24 AM
Oh sorry I just re-read, they said it won't work on i7 cpu??? But they're the latest cpus, surely the game would be made to work on as many up-to-date systems as possible as otherwise they're limiting their sales! Although having said that, I hear that Far Cry 2 isn't officially supported on windows 7, so again not very forward thinking by Ubisoft.

Melius
12-08-2009, 01:21 PM
I fixed the sound settings and the game now works. Strange that Ubisoft tech support did not know of this workaround.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Replicators:
Most reasons for crashings at this time are due to having your audio card dishing out higher than 48000Hz. To change this in vista, go into control panel and click "Sound", Highlight Your Speakers, and click "Properties", then go to the advanced tab and bring down the dropdown menu, select either 16-bit 48000Hz, or 24-bit 48000Hz and your game should run fine. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Replicators
12-08-2009, 02:37 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Melius:
I fixed the sound settings and the game now works. Strange that Ubisoft tech support did not know of this workaround. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Actually it's not a work around, it's something ubisoft never thought about people having their rate higher than 48000Hz. Hopefully they plan to fix this issue soon.

Z3roFM
12-23-2009, 09:47 AM
Proven!! I had this problem, Turn the audio Hz down and BAMN!! the game ran perfectly.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by joeblack1971:
anyone know how to change that sound setup to 48000Hz under windows XP SP3 on a asus M3n78 ?? my game dont start .... black screen after the "title" thx </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

skyhusky13
12-24-2009, 12:13 AM
Thats why i dont use steam anymore its only good for Valve games

scavenger67
12-24-2009, 12:43 PM
well i wish i could play this game any further then hells gate. since i can not get past the very 1st mission yet.

ever since i got this game 2 days ago i have reupdated dx 3 times and even openAL 2 times.

and so far the sound which was never a issue for me never help since mine was all ways set to 48khz 24bit.

cause prototype didnt like 196khz 24bit lol so i now leave it at 48khz 24bit at all times.

but the dx and openAL did help my system to get the game to start and get me to the point where i need to go to the blue lagoon. but now i am stuck there cause it keeps on crash to desk top or becoming none responsive which is 98% of the time.

and asking steam for help is like like asking ubi soft for help it does not exist at all!!

right now i am asking steam for a swap of game since i can not get any with this crap game, it does look nice at hells gate.

the only place i can get to right now and i cant do anything there either. and as for it being on steam i think it would not matter since ubi soft has it name on it.

my system specs:
win7 64bit ultimate rtm
gigabyte ep45-ud3p bios f8
q9450 @ 3.2ghz
4gig corsair dominator ddr2 1066 / pc2 8500
xfx hd 5870
Auzen tech xfi prelude
2 seagate 250 in raid 0 for win 7 64bit rtm ult
2 seagate 250 in raid 0 for vista 64bit sp3 ult

i know steam forums has poster that all so have problem with the game as well. just wish that they would make the game for pc and then port to console and not the other way around it would be a lot less head ashes for sure like it was back in the day.

Davidisflyyo
01-10-2010, 06:26 PM
Does anyone know how to change the sound setting on Windows XP?

scavenger67
01-10-2010, 08:04 PM
i think xp doesnt have that in it as far as i can see here since my server still has xp pro 32bit on it yet.