PDA

View Full Version : Direct connecting 2 comp. to dog fight



Karetaker
08-31-2005, 12:01 PM
I am wondering if it is possable to direct connect two computers (back to back) to dogfight 1-V-1. Afriend of mine will be bringing his computer over this weekend to do some stuff, and we though we would try while he was here. Anyone else do it?

Karetaker
08-31-2005, 12:01 PM
I am wondering if it is possable to direct connect two computers (back to back) to dogfight 1-V-1. Afriend of mine will be bringing his computer over this weekend to do some stuff, and we though we would try while he was here. Anyone else do it?

Lucius_Esox
08-31-2005, 03:23 PM
Hiya m8,
Am no techie but have used a null modem setup b4 (cable between two pc's) for playing games in the way you mentioned. Best place to ask for proper advice is the technical support forum

dannnyjos
08-31-2005, 08:09 PM
Hey Karetaker, let me know if you still haven't figured out your way around this problem. I might be able to help. I usually play with a friend of mine who's 300 miles away. It's not so complicated once you learn the correct steps.

S!

Karetaker
08-31-2005, 08:53 PM
Yes, the null modem cable is the way I was thinking. Have no idea if this is even posable, and not sure how to get the two computers to see each other, and get the game running. (IL2)

In the game, I only see instructions for over the web play, not directly. I was hoping someone would have a "crack" to do this...

Troll2k
08-31-2005, 09:04 PM
If both machines have a network card you can use a cross over network cable.

Then choose lan play in the multiplayer screen.One hosts and the other joins.

ClnlSandersLite
08-31-2005, 09:26 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Troll2k:
If both machines have a network card you can use a cross over network cable.

Then choose lan play in the multiplayer screen.One hosts and the other joins. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Best way right there.

c172pilot
09-01-2005, 01:09 AM
Hook both computers up to a network switch via the ethernet cards and select LAN in multi-player. You will have to run network setup in XP.

JG54_Arnie
09-01-2005, 01:40 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Troll2k:
If both machines have a network card you can use a cross over network cable.

Then choose lan play in the multiplayer screen.One hosts and the other joins. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yep, this should work. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif No switches or routers needed. Just plain and simple! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

Although Its not called LAN in the game. But you should be able to make contact when you go to multiplayer and select "search for local server" when one of the computers is set up as a host already. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

dannnyjos
09-01-2005, 07:32 PM
Yep, cross connect network cable is the simplest way if the PC's are in the same house. But I thought you wanted to play with someone that lived somewhere else http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif.