PDA

View Full Version : PF/ Ill2 SLI compatible?



VF-3Thunderboy
07-02-2005, 06:36 PM
Couldnt find this in the search.

Is PF/Ill2 SLI compatable....? Not that I want to spend the $$$$........ http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

VF-3Thunderboy
07-02-2005, 06:36 PM
Couldnt find this in the search.

Is PF/Ill2 SLI compatable....? Not that I want to spend the $$$$........ http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif

VW-IceFire
07-02-2005, 09:48 PM
I've heard some people got it to work but not without some troubles.

We had one nutter around here convinced that the game was all to fault and the hardware was not. nVidia's design decision means that the software has to support the hardware or it will not function well or properly.

ATI's CrossFire is supposed to be better at that...but there are cons to that design as well. I'd expect Oleg to probably look into making SLI possible. But that may take some time or it may require so much re-writing that the next gen product comes with it but not PF.

Not sure.

Its far too expensive for me. Its a niche within a niche market.

VF-3Thunderboy
07-02-2005, 11:27 PM
Asus P5ND2-SLI Deluxe Motherboard

so MUST you run 2 cards with this board? Or can you start with just the one?

Ive got a new SLI homebuild 3g system priced under $1500.00 with just one card...

JunkoIfurita
07-03-2005, 05:12 AM
You can start with one card, and leave the second slot disabled.

My new system (coming up), will be on an ASUS SLI motherboard (and with the Intel Dual Core P4Extreme - glee!), and a single 7800GTX. If PF gets proper SLI support, or when BoB comes out with SLI support, I'll whack in a second card - whichever comes first.

----

Fliegeroffizier
07-03-2005, 12:54 PM
Ming (member of this forum) seems to have worked out all the details of how to set up SLI to work with PF.

VF-3Thunderboy
07-03-2005, 04:42 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">You can start with one card, and leave the second slot disabled.

My new system (coming up), will be on an ASUS SLI motherboard (and with the Intel Dual Core P4Extreme - glee!), and a single 7800GTX. If PF gets proper SLI support, or when BoB comes out with SLI support, I'll whack in a second card - whichever comes first.

---- </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


Yea, but could you still run good frames with the flak? http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif

VF-3Thunderboy
07-03-2005, 09:43 PM
What kind of power system are you looking at for 2 hight end video cars, and I assume at least 2 gigs of ram?

500 watts minimum? I know some of the newer cards want 350 minimum....

codeseven7
07-04-2005, 11:53 PM
http://www.vr-zone.com/?i=2206&s=1 (http://www.vr-zone.com/?i=2206&amp;s=1)