PDA

View Full Version : No renown on first mission



hughden
05-19-2005, 10:29 AM
Playing with patch 1.3
Ran my first mission, complied with objectives and sunk three cargo vessels. Returned to port and docked.
Report said I had sunk zero tonnage and gave me no renown points. Strangely, although it recorded my time and place of return, the time and place of departure were blank.
Most disappointing for me and the crew!! Any ideas what happened?
Thanks
Hugh

hughden
05-19-2005, 10:29 AM
Playing with patch 1.3
Ran my first mission, complied with objectives and sunk three cargo vessels. Returned to port and docked.
Report said I had sunk zero tonnage and gave me no renown points. Strangely, although it recorded my time and place of return, the time and place of departure were blank.
Most disappointing for me and the crew!! Any ideas what happened?
Thanks
Hugh

Il2pongo
05-19-2005, 10:42 AM
Nuetral ships. Check your captains log.

kruckgp
05-19-2005, 11:07 AM
Hughden, I'm 100% with you.

I installed 1.3, started a new career, and sank a bunch o' ships. Each ship was definitely Brit; a couple were warships that fired on me first. I returned to port to 0 tonnage, which pissed me off enough to uninstall 1.3 and wait till they fix some of their problems.

Sorry pal--run it straight out of the box if you can; it's the only way I play nowadays http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

hughden
05-19-2005, 07:43 PM
Thanks for the feedback. They were Brit ships I sank. I did stick my last torpedo into a passing freighter on the way home which turned out to be neutral; but then I didn't sink it!!
Looks like a 1.3 problem, ****! I am on my second mission and will see if the problem disappears. If not, I will go back to 1.2. With an ATI card I was assuming 1.3 was the best for me. Sigh. Never mind, still an awesome game.

hughden
05-19-2005, 11:38 PM
Finished the second mission and all works OK. There is no captains log for the first mission, and the mission summary which I reviewed at home port has a starting date of 0/0/0 and the starting port is blank.
Looks like a bug, I will report it.

scootertgm
05-20-2005, 12:09 AM
yeah, I it 85k of BRITISH shipping and credit for zero... not that I'm bitter about it or anything http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/784.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/icon_twisted.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif

thecaptain
05-20-2005, 10:22 AM
Not a problem guys. The same thing happened to me after my first patrol with 1.3. Needless to say, not seeing my 70,000+ tons of sunk merchant shipping was a bit disturbing. Anyway, I reloaded the previous save that I had made just before ending the patrol and all the tonnage and renown then showed up after returning to port once again. Pretty bad bug, but this at least is a good workaround for it until fixed. Hope this helps.
Regards,
TheCaptain

scootertgm
05-20-2005, 10:33 AM
Not a good work around if you just started a new patrol... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif There is no previous save point...

thecaptain
05-20-2005, 10:50 AM
Sorry, maybe I wasn't clear. I usually keep a couple ingame saves during every patrol. This time I made a save file as I was preparing to conclude Patrol 1. Then I exited the patrol and that's when the renown and tonnage was nowhere to be found. I then went back and reloaded that very last save I made just before exiting the patrol. I exited the patrol once again and this time the screen displayed my renown and tonnage intact. Don't know if it was a fluke or not, but at least the patrol wasn't wasted.
Regards,
TheCaptain