PDA

View Full Version : P-51...why is it so freakin hard to fly?

calvert74
05-30-2008, 01:47 PM
I have been flying IL-2 for a few years now and have become pretty good flying several different aircraft. But...I can't seem to master the P-51. I thought it was supposed to be THE BEST fighter of the war. Everytime I fly it I get out-manouvered, out-flown and shot down. I fly it at altitude, I dont TnB when I fly it. Is it just modeled bad in the game? is there a trick? any P-51 pilots have any advice? I really like the Mustang...but I get so frustrated when I fly it.

calvert74
05-30-2008, 01:47 PM
I have been flying IL-2 for a few years now and have become pretty good flying several different aircraft. But...I can't seem to master the P-51. I thought it was supposed to be THE BEST fighter of the war. Everytime I fly it I get out-manouvered, out-flown and shot down. I fly it at altitude, I dont TnB when I fly it. Is it just modeled bad in the game? is there a trick? any P-51 pilots have any advice? I really like the Mustang...but I get so frustrated when I fly it.

jayhall0315
05-30-2008, 01:55 PM
Funny, that you a veteran of over two years IL2 experience should say this. I recently revised a section in my Newbie's Guide concerning just this matter. You should take a look at it here:
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/2751038856

(the section on American 'quirks' is in the middle or my guide).

My own conclusion, it that Oleg just didnt get down the details as well with many American aircraft as he did with say the Spit, 109s, or La. Consequently, as long as other more sporty aircraft are available in the planeset, I never choose the American aircraft, which is a shame.

Jay

Airmail109
05-30-2008, 02:06 PM
The 190s far harder to fly than the Stang? What are you complaining about, it isnt going to handle like a 109 or Spitfire. It handles better in many respects though especially at high speed.