PDA

View Full Version : NW Europe DGen - Beta 3 - loadsa stuff fixed



ianboys
10-22-2005, 03:33 PM
http://www.simhq.com/simhq3/sims/boards/bbs/ultimatebb....topic;f=144;t=001313 (http://www.simhq.com/simhq3/sims/boards/bbs/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=144;t=001313)

Fly a LW, RAF or USAAF campaign on the new map!

Kuna15
10-22-2005, 03:38 PM
Fly a LW, RAF or USAAF campaign on the new map!

Hey that sounds really good http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif.

sledgehammer2
10-22-2005, 10:47 PM
Ian, or anybody, please help me. I am trying to start a campaign with the NWE map but when I click "generate" my computer makes a beeping sound that I have never heard before and it fails to bring up a map.

I went to Simhq and got the download from this morning and then the second one that said "lots of stuff fixed". Also on the thread that went with that link to d/l it said it required the Dgen exe that was released earlier today. I thought I got that when I got the download from this morning

Just for info here I am a BoE owner. Can anybody tell me what I have done wrong? I appreciate any help and thanks for the great map!!!

Regards,
sledgehammer2

sledgehammer2
10-22-2005, 11:23 PM
OK, I think I got it sorted out. I just went back to the post that had the Dgen exe in it and d/l it again. Not sure where my ****-up was but I seem to have it sorted out since I was able to generate my first mission.

Feathered_IV
10-23-2005, 04:08 AM
Wow! I just tried it http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif. That is really something to be proud of. I don't normally go for dgen campaigns but this is awesome http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif.

On the first mission (P-51) I downed a 109 and a pair of Doras. I switched off all the icons/padlocks etc so it felt just like online. A couple of my squaddies were even shoulder-shooting and stealing my flammers too http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif.

I saved it as a track and went back to watch it. Imagine my suprise; Instead of making 3 kills with a safe RTB, my plane tore around the place firing at imaginary aircraft and got shot down by the first K4 to come into range! WTF?

I won't be saving any more tracks, just enjoying this great campaign - Thanks!

Tully__
10-23-2005, 05:48 AM
I saved it as a track and went back to watch it. Imagine my suprise; Instead of making 3 kills with a safe RTB, my plane tore around the place firing at imaginary aircraft and got shot down by the first K4 to come into range! WTF?
The "Save Track" button available at the end of a single mission doesn't record events... it records your control inputs and the mission file in a file with a .trk extension. When it's played back, the game literally reflies the mission, using your original control inputs to control the player aircraft.

If anything upsets the timing of a single control input during record or playback, the rest of the mission will be inaccurate. By far the most common cause is the use of Pause, time slow or time compression during the original mission, but also possible causes are a slow system, a shortage of RAM, other applications running in background etc..

An alternate recording mode exists, the so called "online" track. The recording has to be started manually using the keyboard "Start/Stop quick recording" or ESC menu record button, but it records actual position & damage data rather than control inputs. You'll still see the occasional hit where there was originally a miss or vice versa, but as the recording includes damage information you'll only die in the playback if you died in the original. These files have a .ntrk extension.

Feathered_IV
10-23-2005, 06:29 AM
The "Save Track" button available at the end of a single mission doesn't record events... it records your control inputs and the mission file in a file with a .trk extension. When it's played back, the game literally reflies the mission, using your original control inputs to control the player aircraft.



If anything upsets the timing of a single control input during record or playback, the rest of the mission will be inaccurate. By far the most common cause is the use of Pause, time slow or time compression during the original mission, but also possible causes are a slow system, a shortage of RAM, other applications running in background etc..

An alternate recording mode exists, the so called "online" track. The recording has to be started manually using the keyboard "Start/Stop quick recording" or ESC menu record button, but it records actual position & damage data rather than control inputs. You'll still see the occasional hit where there was originally a miss or vice versa, but as the recording includes damage information you'll only die in the playback if you died in the original. These files have a .ntrk extension.

Thanks Tully, another piece of FB arcania slips into place http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif!

Ian, the mission briefings read like a well made static campaign. None of the made-by-robot feel that past dgens were known for. If this is what can be expected in your upcomming paid release (I forgot the name http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/1072.gif) then you've just made a customer out of me!

jetsetsam
10-23-2005, 07:03 AM
Sledgehammer 2, I had the same problem, until I figured out that the dgen.exe and dgen in the first download are to be extracted into the parent Il-2 Sturmovik Forgotten Battles folder, overwriting the existing dgen.exe and dgen, then the content of the second download is extracted into the updated dgen folder. No more beep and I can generate campaigns.

Kuna15
10-24-2005, 12:32 PM
I think I'm gonna start new RAF campaign in NW Europe map... lol it's really looks good, I agree with Feathered_IV.