PDA

View Full Version : An X45 Question. Have any of you heard of this?

FlakMagnent
01-13-2005, 08:58 PM
I love my X45 but after a little use the joysitck starts squeeking. Its the little plastic peice under the spring. I am an Autobody Repair Tech. and I have tried all that I know to get the squeking to stop. Has anyone else out there found a fix to this annoying problem? It doesnt affect the performance but really gets on my nerves.
Thanks in advance

RACFrankenstein
01-13-2005, 09:01 PM
Have you tried rubbing candle wax under the ring? It worked for me. I understand beeswax candles are best.

SithSpeeder
01-13-2005, 09:46 PM
What he said....Yes, it's low tech. Yes, it seems silly. Yes, it should've been designed a bit better. But YES, IT WORKS!

I used an old birthday candle.

* _54th_Speeder *

Heavy_Weather
01-14-2005, 06:05 AM
yep, put wax on mine a year ago and the squeaks havent come back yet. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

LW_Icarus
01-14-2005, 06:42 AM
I hadnt thought about candle wax, what I was using was differential lube for R/C cars, the losi brand specifically, mostly because I have a surplus of the stuff.

it doesnt last years, but it does last months, and is completely plastic safe. I just use a super light film of the stuff.

But I may go get a beeswax candle if I need to get the 45 out of retirement. so far the X-52 hasnt shown that problem.

BelaLvgosi
01-14-2005, 07:12 AM
I use graphite dust to lube every moving part, from the inner shaft to the inverted cone. Lasts some months too.

Fehler
01-14-2005, 08:40 AM
Candle wax is da bomb!

I have been using it on mine for 3 years now.. works great!

Now if I can only get Baldie to make a diagram on how he shimmed the X45, I will be in heaven. Mine is starting to show some wear, and I have to keep adjusting a dead zone on it. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

rijnton1944
01-14-2005, 11:43 AM