PDA

View Full Version : Widescreen 1900x1200 questions...anyone?



SithSpeeder
03-12-2006, 10:25 AM
If I purchase a widescreen monitor for everything else (say like a 1900x1200), can I force IL2:FB (merged) into a 1600x1200 (4:3 ratio) and essentially have black bars on the side (but still take resolution advantage of the "native" 1900x1200 resolution)?

Let me re-phrase that in case I'm not being clear. If I purchase a 1900x1200 LCD widescreen monitor, can I play IL2:FB (merged) at 1600x1200 such that there would be vertical black bars (150x1200) on the left and right sides of the screen and have no impact on performance of the game OR the monitor?

* _54th_Speeder *

SithSpeeder
03-12-2006, 10:25 AM
If I purchase a widescreen monitor for everything else (say like a 1900x1200), can I force IL2:FB (merged) into a 1600x1200 (4:3 ratio) and essentially have black bars on the side (but still take resolution advantage of the "native" 1900x1200 resolution)?

Let me re-phrase that in case I'm not being clear. If I purchase a 1900x1200 LCD widescreen monitor, can I play IL2:FB (merged) at 1600x1200 such that there would be vertical black bars (150x1200) on the left and right sides of the screen and have no impact on performance of the game OR the monitor?

* _54th_Speeder *

ronnied316
03-12-2006, 10:39 AM
Yes, you can do that. I have a Dell 2405 and I run IL-2 at 1600x1200. I'd run it in 1920x1200, but the fact that the weather effects don't carry over to the "edges" ruin the immersion for me. It runs just fine in 1600x1200 with the black bars though.

SithSpeeder
03-12-2006, 10:49 AM
How do you set it that way? In the conf.ini file of IL2?

Thanks for the response, BTW.

* _54th_Speeder *

Capt_Haddock
03-12-2006, 10:53 AM
Why would you run Il2 at 4:3?

I run it at wide screen (1680 x 1050) and although I know I'm loosing a bit of the image top and bottom it doesn't really bother me that much, specially because now I play at maximum FOV (Page Down key) when with my old 4:3 monitor I always played at medium FOV (End key).

Far more immersive in wide screen IMHO.

http://www.haddock.f2s.com/sig/F19bannerh3.jpg

SithSpeeder
03-12-2006, 11:23 AM
It is my opinion that you are losing more than "a bit". Relative to the 4:3, by my calculations, you have 20% less screen (18.3% relative to 4:3, 22.4% more relative to 16:9...so call it 20%). See http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/63110913/m/2341038753/p/2

For me, that extra bit on the top is what helps me keep an eye on bogies (using TrackIR2)--it has been my experience that what you don't see will kill you http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_redface.gif . That extra bit on the bottom is the temp and fuel gauges, landing gear lights, horizon, etc. Plus, what the previous poster mentioned, is that weather effects (e.g. clouds) are not properly supported on the widescreen portion.

YMMV.

* _54th_Speeder *

Capt_Haddock
03-12-2006, 11:44 AM
That picture is really interesting http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://img345.imageshack.us/img345/4128/il2views2wm.png

My point is that when I had a 4:3 monitor I used the green box all the time, but now I play using the yellow box, so it's an improvement for me.

The red box (max FOV + 4:3) looked like a distorted fish-eye lens to me. Really off putting. I never liked it.

I still prefer wide screen despite the loss of total view. It just looks right to me, but I see your point http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://www.haddock.f2s.com/sig/F19bannerh3.jpg

ronnied316
03-12-2006, 12:04 PM
You don't have to make any changes to the config file, just set IL-2 up to play at 1600x1200. You MIGHT have to change your monitor to display in "aspect ratio" mode as opposed to "fill" mode. In "fill" mode it'll stretch the image to fit, in "aspect ratio" it'll give you the black bars on the side. Like I said before, I'd run it in widescreen, but the weather effects, etc. that are missing ruin it for me. That being said, games like Half-Life 2 look AMAZING at 1920x1200.

Wilburnator
03-12-2006, 12:28 PM
You lose a bit, but not that much. I don't miss it. If you have track IR, you can look a tiny bit further down and a tiny bit further up and you're not missing anything much.

The benefit I see is that everything is BIGGER. Say two screens have the same dimension in height, but one is widescreen. To be viewed in widescreen on the ws monitor, the top and bottom must be cropped. But before that, the entire image is blown up, to fill the screen to the sides without stretching.

I have a 30" HDTV monitor. I have gone back and tried a few games running at a 4:3 to see if the cropped top and bottom view is a serious handicap. I find it's not, particularly if you have TIR. Playing at 4:3 with the bars on the side is like looking at everything in miniature after getting used to widescreen.

BTW... the weather effects go all the way to the edges now in widescreen mode. That came a patch or two back.

Capt_Haddock
03-12-2006, 12:50 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Wilburnator:
BTW... the weather effects go all the way to the edges now in widescreen mode. That came a patch or two back. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yep. I was going to say. No problems with the weather here http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://www.haddock.f2s.com/sig/F19bannerh3.jpg

ronnied316
03-12-2006, 01:59 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Capt_Haddock:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Wilburnator:
BTW... the weather effects go all the way to the edges now in widescreen mode. That came a patch or two back. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Yep. I was going to say. No problems with the weather here http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Hehe, shows how well I pay attention. I haven't tried widescreen in about 3 patches. I think I'll start using it now. Thanks guys...I guess I'll actually have to read the read-me files from now on. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

SithSpeeder
03-12-2006, 02:03 PM
OK. Will an old GeForce 4 Ti4600 (128 Mb) drive that bad boy? Or will I need an upgraded card as well? (like maybe the Dell 24")

* _54th_Speeder *

SithSpeeder
03-12-2006, 09:20 PM
Googled my question: maximum resolution of 2,048 x 1,536 and a maximum 32-bit color depth.

So, now the only thing holding me back from going widescreen...is it worth the mulah at this time in my life... http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/metal.gif

* _54th_Speeder *

...who currently has a Hitachi 21" CRT that's about 9 years old.