PDA

View Full Version : --CD 1 Not Recognized--



Estelle1937
12-27-2005, 05:50 PM
--Hi, I'm new here.
So glad I found your forum.
My Husband & I have played most of the Myst series, except IV.
After the Installing Myst V, using all three
CD's, I tried opening the game, and now CD 1
won't open.
I cleaned the CD drive, and CD 1 too, but it still won't open, keeps saying 'retry'.
I tried repositioning it over twenty times,
no luck.
I tried opening it from the 'D' drive itself and
still no luck.
I had this problem with another game, 'Dracula
Resurrection', but only after constant playing
over a five year period.
(grandkids love it).
I tested the CD drive with a different game's CD and it worked fine.
Any ideas what the problem could be?
The Game is brand new, a Christmas gift.
(I'm not a techie, but I have worked inside the
Dell,and some of our old PC's,ie Emachine and PackardBell; replacing/upgrading various
hardware, so I'm hoping you can give
me some guidance)
Below are the basic specs. for the machine.
Thanks,
Estelle

OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2 Build 2600
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
Bios Version Date 9/10/2001
System Manufacturer Dell Computer
System Model Dimension 4300
Name 64MB NVIDIA GeForce2 MX with TV Out
PNP Device ID Adapter Type GeForce2 MX, NVIDIA compatible
Adapter Description 64MB NVIDIA GeForce2 MX with TV Out
Adapter RAM 64.00 MB (67,108,864 bytes)
Installed Drivers nv4_disp.dll
Driver Version 5.13.01.2183
Drive D:
Description CD-ROM Drive
Media Loaded No
Media Type CD-ROM
Name _NEC NR-7800A
Manufacturer (Standard CD-ROM drives)
Status OK

Estelle1937
12-29-2005, 12:18 AM
--guess no one has any suggestions for
me.
I did however update my NVidia driver to the
latest version.
Went through the whole deal, uninstalling
old version,
turning off the virus scan etc., no accelerator
any more since I switched to Fiber Optics.
To make a long story short, the new drivers
took up a heck of a lot more space and now
I'm just under the available free space requirement for the game.
So, uninstalled a lot of stuff,
etc. and still under. Defragged, no help
there. Also, I checked the hardware/drivers with directX diagnostic
to make sure they were all okay.
Game still won't open.
--Oh yeah, I went to Ubi, and the page where
you email them a question is coming up
as an error page.
Phooey on Ubi!

nanoukmetal
12-29-2005, 12:47 AM
Salut Estelle,

I beleive Ubisoft has experienced a server problem since yesterday. I was also unable to log in here.

While you are waiting for the expert, you could check your private messages. Click on the tab GO at top left and click on private message.

L'ami nanouk.

Heimdall_G
12-29-2005, 09:15 AM
Estelle,

Yeah, the Forums were having problems. Also, don't expect instant response to a post - you may need to wait 2 or 3 days. In particular, all of us Moderators are unpaid volunteers who do not work for Ubisoft and are taking time away from our non-Myst lives to offer help and advice. Does my non-Myst life come first? You betcha!


That aside, suggestions:

Do you get any error messages when you try to start EoA, and if so, exactly what are they?

1. If you don't already have it, install the most recent firmware for your NR-7800A, and reboot.
-- a. The most recent firmware update from Dell is available here (http://support.dell.com/support/downloads/download.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=gen&releaseid=R52594&SystemID=DIM_PNT_P4_4300&os=WW1&osl=en&deviceid=1200&devlib=0&typecnt=1&vercnt=2&formatcnt=1&fileid=62374). This is BR52594.exe, version 1.0DA, released 11/20/02, 993 KB.
-- b. Follow the firmware installation instructions *carefully*. In particular, do NOT run any programs or access the Internet, or shut down your PC, while the firmware update is in progress.

2. Using Device Manager (right-click on My Computer icon > Properties > Hardware > Device Manager), remove all virtual disks installed by CD/DVD burning or copying programs. For example, Daemon Tools, Alcohol 120%, CloneCD, Easy CD/DVD Creator, Nero Burning ROM, etc. This step may be required together with suggestion 5, below.
-- a. Remove the virtual disk(s), then WITHOUT rebooting start EoA.
-- b. You may need to prevent the program(s) from loading on bootup, using the System Configuration Utility, before starting EoA.
----- 1. Click on Start > Run.
----- 2. Type msconfig in the Open: box, then click on OK to run the program.
----- 3. Click on the Startup tab.
----- 4. Scroll down to the program you want to prevent from loading on startup, and click on the check box to clear it.
----- 5. Click on Apply, then on OK.
----- 6. Reboot, then start EoA.
-- c. Worst case, you may need to uninstall the program itself and reboot, then start EoA.

3. Using Task Manager (press Ctrl+Alt+Del once, then click on Task Manager), disable all programs that allow drag-and-drop-file-transfer CD/DVD burning, aka packet writing software. For example, Direct CD, InCD, DLA/Sonic DLA, Instant-Write, Packet CD, Drag to Disc, FileCD, abCD, etc.
-- a. You may need to prevent the program from loading on bootup, using the System Configuration Utility as above.
-- b. Worst case, you may need to uninstall the program itself and reboot, then start EoA.

4. If you have them, uninstall PlayBackup and Insektors, then reboot and start EoA.

5. Use Windows Task Manager to close everything running in the background except for Explorer.exe, Ctfmon.exe, and whatever your hardware needs. This step may be required together with suggestion 2, above,.
-- a. Close your Internet connection, especially if you have only a software firewall.
-- b. Press Ctrl+Alt+Del once, and then click on Task Manager.
-- c. Click on the Applications tab.
-- d. Click on the desired application to highlight it.
-- e. Click on End Task.
-- f. Repeat this procedure until all unnecessary background applications are closed, including your anti-virus program and software firewall.
-- g. Click on the Processes tab.
-- h. Click on the desired process to highlight it.
-- i. Click on End Process.
-- j. Repeat this procedure until all unnecessary background processes are closed. If you aren't sure which processes can be safely closed, check out the AnswersThatWork Task List Programs index (http://www.answersthatwork.com/Tasklist_pages/tasklist.htm). The most common tasks are described, and which ones are essential and which can be safely closed are noted.
-- k. WITHOUT rebooting, start EoA.

6. If none of the above help, try re-installing EoA from a clean boot, as detailed in Myst V: Clean Boot Install/Re-install With Win XP (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/3471054943/m/6171031163).


BTW, if you don't have the URL, Dell's drivers and downloads for your Dimension 4300 are available here (http://support.dell.com/support/downloads/devices.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=gen&SystemID=DIM_PNT_P4_4300&os=WW1&osl=EN).

Estelle1937
12-29-2005, 04:09 PM
---Thanks for the response, I appreciate it.
--I use to do volunteer work a lot when I was younger,
and you are right, sometimes it can interfer
with your regular routine, especially during
the Holiday season.

I have to clean up my machine somewhat, before
attempting to update the CD drivers, etc.
Evidently the un-installing & re-installing
of the Nvidia drivers threw something out of kilter.
Still waiting for a good system restore date
before I proceed any further.
(Right now, I'm Getting a bad black 'dos' windows startup screen,
and have to boot from safe mode to normal
windows.)

I will call in the mounties (my PC savy
kids) if I can't get it back to normal
myself.
Thanks, again for the help.
Estelle

Estelle1937
12-29-2005, 04:11 PM
Originally posted by Estelle1937:
---Thanks for the response, I appreciate it.
--I use to do volunteer work a lot when I was younger,
and you are right, sometimes it can interfer
with your regular routine, especially during
the Holiday season.

No Error Messages appeared.

I have to clean up my machine somewhat, before
attempting to update the CD drivers, etc.
Evidently the un-installing & re-installing
of the Nvidia drivers threw something out of kilter.
Still waiting for a good system restore date
before I proceed any further.
(Right now, I'm Getting a bad black 'dos' windows startup screen,
and have to boot from safe mode to normal
windows.)

I will call in the mounties (my PC savy
kids) if I can't get it back to normal
myself.
Thanks, again for the help.
Estelle

Heimdall_G
12-29-2005, 04:25 PM
Getting a black DOS Windows startup screen and having to boot from safe mode into normal Windows can be very bad news and a harbinger of impending diasaster. Like not being able to get into Windows at all!

As soon as you can, do the following:

1. Use your anti-virus software to do a complete or full scan of your hard drive(s). This is the 'start it and let it crank' type of scan, not the bootup quickie!

Then, do complete spyware and adware scans of the drive(s). I regularly use, and recommend:
-- Spybot - Search & Destroy (http://spybot.safer-networking.de/en/download/index.html)
-- Ad-aware SE Personal Edition (http://lavasoft.element5.com/software/)

Both have free versions!

2. Clear your Internet Explorer caches:
-- a. Close all open applications.
-- b. Open a single Internet Explorer session.
-- c. Click on Tools > Internet Options.
-- d. Click on Delete Cookies > OK.
-- e. Click on Delete Files (check the 'Delete all offline content' box) > OK.
-- f. Click on Clear History > Yes.
-- g. Click on OK to exit.

3. Use Windows Explorer to search your hard drive for \temp, \tmp, and \temporary folders, and delete any files in these folders that aren't currently in use:
-- a. Click on Tools > Find > Files or Folders.
-- b. Type temp or tmp or temporary in the Named: box.
-- c. Click on the arrow at the right end of the Look in: box and then click on the disk drive to be searched.
-- d. Click on Find Now to start the search.
-- e. Click on the temp (or tmp or temporary) folders found to open them.
-- f. Delete any files in these folders that aren't currently in use.
-- g. Close Windows Explorer.

4. Check your hard drive(s) for errors. Refer to How to Perform Disk Error Checking in Windows XP (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;315265&Product=winxp). Another option is Norton SystemWorks 2006's Disk Doctor (http://www.symantec.com/sabu/sysworks/basic/).

5. Defragment your hard drive(s). Refer to How To Analyze and Defragment a Disk in Windows XP (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;305781&Product=winxp) and How to Defragment Your Disk Drive Volumes in Windows XP (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;314848&Product=winxp). Executive Software's Diskeeper 10.0 (http://www.diskeeper.com/products/products.asp) is another option.

6. Check your Registry for errors. Some registry diagnosis and repair tool options (all of which I use) are:
-- Symantec's Norton SystemWorks 2006 (http://www.symantec.com/sabu/sysworks/basic/) WinDoctor.
-- Rose City Software's Registry First Aid 4.1 (http://www.rosecitysoftware.com/Reg1Aid/).
-- VCOM's Fix-It Utilities 6 (http://www.v-com.com/product/Fix-It_Utilities_Home.html) SystemRegistry-RegistryFixer utility.

So far as I know, Win XP doesn't have an equivalent built-in Registry tool. Run whichever tool you use until no more fixable errors are discovered, and reboot when finished.

Estelle1937
12-30-2005, 12:49 AM
--Thanks for all the great information and
the download sites.
I finally got the PC straightened out, before
I went on line and found your second post.
I'm copying it to put in my document files
in case it crashes again.

I did a system restore and uninstalled
Myst V.
Defragged, scan disc etc also.
Ran Lavasoft, hijack this, and scan. Still have to clean
out some cookies in my document file.
I have webroot spysweeper too and may run it,
before I do any more installs etc., it's a pain
to run timewise.

I think, when I was cleaning out some old
files to find space, that I uninstalled a
file that was shared by an important program.
I got a warning that it might be used by
another program but did it anyway. Bad move.

Thanks again for all the help.
Estelle

Estelle1937
01-01-2006, 06:44 PM
--I found out why Windows wouldn't bootup
after updating drivers, as per my previous posting.

I reinstalled the updated NVidia drivers, after the big clean-up as per instructions, and
the machine went into the black "machine
won't start normally" screen mode again.
It says on the screen, that this most likely happens after a system change or new install.

I had to rollback the drivers to get the
PC to work properly, plus I did a system
restore again just in case.
I did however do a good CD driver update, with
a dos flash program. No problem with that.

Unfortunately, the Myst V CD1 would not
even do the install this time.
I'm giving the game to my daughter to try on
her new PC, and if it won't read CD1 either,
I'm assuming its a bad disc.

Just loaded AURA Fate of the Ages with no
problem. Looks interesting, very nice
graphics.
Will post if my daughter gets Myst V to run.

Heimdall_G
01-04-2006, 03:04 PM
I've just completed Aura, after lots of time spent, much S&S (sweating and swearing)!

Some of the puzzles in this game are absolutely diabolical and *not* something the ordinary person could solve without a walk-through. Which is what I needed.

Be aware that walkthroughs aren't always accurate - if something a walkthrough says doesn't work, play around with the puzzle a bit. Or a lot, as the case may be. I downloaded several walkthroughs and cross-compared them. Interesting....

Some Aura walkthroughs are:
-- http://www.gamerstemple.com/games5/000722/000722g101.asp (index is orange links on right side of page)
-- http://www.uhs-hints.com/uhsweb/aura.php
-- http://www.gameboomers.com/wtcheats/pcAa/Aura%20-%20Fate%20of%20the%20Ages/index.htm #1
-- http://www.gameboomers.com/wtcheats/pcAa/aura.htm #2

The official Aura site is here (http://www.auragame.com/us/index.html).

You'll probably need the Aura patches (retail patch, 1.02 and 1.04), which are available from Gamespot (http://www.gamespot.com/pc/adventure/aurafateoftheages/download.html?sid=6104395) and
Gamershell (http://www.gamershell.com/search/index.html?q=aura).

General Aura tech support is available from The Adventure Company (http://www.adventurecompanygames.com/tac/support/index.php).

Estelle1937
01-04-2006, 05:37 PM
---Ha Ha, a gamer after my own heart.
The first thing I did after loading Aura,
was find the cheat/walkthru site and put it
on the desktop.
My husband is pretty good at solving the
puzzles, but I'm a klutz at some of the
mechanical ones.
We actually did the original Myst together,
and only cheated once.

Thanks for the additional walkthru sites and
the patch information.
I can't wait to hear Hubby start "S & S",
when he encounters a glitch, and cries for
Estelle. (You would never believe he's a
retired At&t tech, and worked with computers
in the 80's)

Does the patch have to be loaded before starting
the game, (can it be loaded after starting the
game?) or before loading a specific disc?

Do you have to save the game periodically
so you don't loose the game after being killed?
(see I told you I'm a big cheater)

In all, did you enjoy the game?

Santa also brought me "Echo", which I can't load
yet due to the large file being used by
Aura. I don't want to take up any more
space on the hard drive.

Thanks for the great help.
Estelle

nanoukmetal
01-05-2006, 11:22 AM
Yesterday and again today, after going to Aura official site from Heimdall's link, my firewall had to block some kind of application trying to make a partial or complete copy of my Windows media library files.(songs)

So in case it is not a false alarm you should take notice.

Heimdall_G
01-05-2006, 03:22 PM
Estelle,

Q. Does the patch have to be loaded before starting the game, (can it be loaded after starting the game?) or before loading a specific disc?
A. *Never* apply a patch after starting a game! Instead, log into Windows with full Administrator privileges, close all open applications, use Start > Run to apply the patch, and reboot. Log into Windows with full Administrator privileges, and play the game.

Q. Do you have to save the game periodically so you don't loose the game after being killed?
A. Save often, unless you like to replay a lot! (I finished the game with 65 saves.) Click on the Esc key to access the Main Menu, and select Save to access the Save Menu.

*****************

nanoukmetal,

Having tried that link from all three of my machines without any intrusions, I doubt it was the official Aura site per se. You most likely have a virus and/or spyware infestation. As soon as possible, do the following.

1. First, use your (mainstream, not some off-the-wall freebie) anti-virus software to do a complete or full scan of your hard drive(s). This is the 'start it and let it crank' type of scan, not the bootup quickie!

2. Then, do complete spyware and adware scans of the drive(s). I regularly use, and recommend:
-- Spybot - Search & Destroy (http://spybot.safer-networking.de/en/download/index.html)
-- Ad-aware SE Personal Edition (http://lavasoft.element5.com/software/)

nanoukmetal
01-05-2006, 05:51 PM
Hi Heimdall,

I have followed your instructions.

I do subscribe, through my internet provider, to a full security pack from Zero Knowledge/Freedom (now called: Radialpoint).
I did a full antivirus and antispyware scans and nothing was found.

I have installed Spybot and did the big scan= nothing found.

I already had Ad Aware and the full scan came up with nothing.

One little detail I forgot to mention is: the connection was attempted after going to the galery and just after I clicked on the first "age".

In my inexperienced mind, the first reaction was : there must be a spyware attached to one of the pictures just like a virus in e-mail attachements. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/icon_twisted.gif

For me only, I beleive it is best if I never make a visit over there anymore.

thank you very much, nanouk

Estelle1937
01-10-2006, 05:52 PM
--Updating my Myst V problem.

The game installed & plays fine on my Daughter's
two year old Dell.
Guess my Dell is over the hill, even though it's
only five.
Take care all.
Estelle

Heimdall_G
01-11-2006, 02:34 PM
Unfortunately, as that sort of thing goes, five years with a PC might as well be forever!

But at least you got EoA to install and play....