PDA

View Full Version : Dornier Do-335 destructive power

DROBNJAK1960
11-01-2009, 02:37 AM
I am new to the game and I am still practicing proper shooting and so on. I tried all the planes like Spits, P-38 and eventual Do335. I thought, plane has two engines, but the roll rate of the single engine planes, it must be good.

Well, it turned out Do335 is unbelievable. Flies fast, climbs fast etc, more like a jet.

Q1: Is Do335 'legal in online forums?

Another thing was, when I shoot at a bomber from a Spit, it takes lots and lots of hits before one brings He-111 down. But with Do-335, its like with lasers, just a touch and the whole bomber (A20 in this case) disintegrates into a pieces. Crew even doesn't need to jump out, they just suddenly find themselves in the air.

Q2: Are the guns of Do-335 a little bit enthusiastically over-simulated or are they somehow historically accurate?

Waldo.Pepper
11-01-2009, 02:54 AM

This is a question requesting an opinion. Not in my opinion.

Q2: Are the guns of Do-335 a little bit enthusiastically over-simulated or are they somehow historically accurate?

They're fine.

Sillius_Sodus
11-01-2009, 02:56 AM
Hello DROBNJAK1960,

If the server includes it in the plane set, then the DO-335 is certainly legal though you don't see them too often online. If it's there, by all means have at her with it.

The Pfeil has cannons, which goes a long way to explain why you can vaporize aircraft so easily.

PanzerAce
11-01-2009, 04:32 AM

Huh? It's part of IL2:46 vanilla....

They're accurate. You're trying to compare a plane with a pair of 20mms (with low ammo), and some spit wads to a plane with a pair of 20mms with LOTS of ammo, and a high velocity 30mm (or three, in the case of the other Do335 version).

Here's a hint though: don't practice with the 335, you won't learn were to aim for the most impact.

M_Gunz
11-01-2009, 07:24 AM
Hit from Mk103 is like 4+ 20mm. What to expect that with 2 151/20's? D0-335 is a major gunship.

Choctaw111