PDA

View Full Version : GEforce 5500



Alpha1-90
10-25-2005, 10:43 AM
Would PF run well using this card becuase i am wondering wether to buy this and would the graphics be improved.

Thanks.

Bearcat99
10-25-2005, 12:11 PM
If you run it in excellent settings it should be ok..... What is your CPU?

danjama
10-25-2005, 01:11 PM
Im guessing yuo are on AGP. This card is ok but get a 6 series card if you can (6600, maybe a 6200 if ur really strapped for dosh) im sure they come n agp! Otherwise, say ur not using a card right now, the 5500 will make u very happy.

Dolemite-
10-25-2005, 01:24 PM
Do not buy a 5500! The Geforce4 series is faster than those. If your going to buy a new graphics card buy a 6600 or a 6200 at the very least.

XyZspineZyX
10-25-2005, 01:36 PM
I run a GEforce fx5700le & am happy with results however this series as well as the 5500 are outdated now so if you are willing to spend a little extra you should get excellent results
As Dolemite suggests, the 6200 or 6600 are better cards

BirdieNum-nums
10-25-2005, 02:10 PM
Well, I have a 5500 and it runs awesome. Been using it since October 2004. Of course, it's an older card now, and I take it you're considering due to its cheaper asking price. Probably 50 bucks or so if you can find one. The card has 250 mg of ram. If money is an issue, I assure you, it's a very decent card. Just make sure you're running a minimum of 1gig of ram.

cheers!

Birdie Num-nums, a.k.a. Jabberwocky

AH_Gonzo
10-28-2005, 05:57 PM
I run a 5500 too and have never had any real problems with it. Even running the game at almost maximun settings, I get about 4- 60 FPS. The fan did burn out a while back but I just put a case fan near it and it runs cooler than ever.

I would suggest that if money permits that you go for a 6000 series card. A 6600 card isn't that much more but the effect on frame rates vill be very noticable.

Xiolablu3
10-28-2005, 07:50 PM
The FX5500 is just a little slower than my TI4600 and I fly on excellent settings and get good framerates.

If its 128mb and u have plaenty of ram then you should be fine. Basically the more ram you have the less stutters you will get.