PDA

View Full Version : American Aircraft: Il-2 vs AH

megalopsuche
03-26-2009, 11:09 AM
For the record:

I've been a fan of Dale "hitech" Addink's flight sims for many years now. I first flew his game Warbirds back in the late '90s, and I'm also a pilot in Aces High. If you don't know who I'm talking about, Hitech is a Texan who has done mock dogfights in a real P-51D, among other aircraft (he also paid for a flight in a Yak, so I hear). The flight test data he uses for his sim is American.

So, with no reason for suspicion of anti-American bias, how do the American fighters in Aces High compare to Il-2? In my opinion, they are remarkably similar in both performance and handling characteristics, with the one exception being the F4U (more on that later).

In AH, the P-51 is regarded as a fast fighter that does poorly at lower speeds or in a turning contest with...just about anything. It's still a popular aircraft because of its history, but there's a very small number of pilots who can mix it up effectively in the P-51, and they have spent many years and suffered many virtual deaths figuring out how to do that. A lot of pilots take 50-75% fuel and drop tanks in the P-51 in order not to be too full of fuel in combat because the P-51 of AH also has longitudinal instability, just like Il-2.