PDA

View Full Version : Raise seat option?



BuzzU
10-26-2004, 12:54 PM
Has anybody got this to work? I've assigned a kep for it, and it doesn't work in any of the three planes that has it. Yes, i'm trying it with the canopy open.

BuzzU
10-26-2004, 12:54 PM
Has anybody got this to work? I've assigned a kep for it, and it doesn't work in any of the three planes that has it. Yes, i'm trying it with the canopy open.

sparrow420
10-26-2004, 01:07 PM
Hi!

You should also switch off 'gun sight mode' (default <shift> <F1&gthttp://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif...
Or did you already do that?

Cheers,

Sparrow

BuzzU
10-26-2004, 01:10 PM
That's a German thingy. I never use it.

walsh2509
10-26-2004, 02:07 PM
I assigned "O" to open the canopy and it worked ok! I F2'd outside and looked at it side on, canop closed you could see the piolts head. When I pressed O for the canopy to open as it slid back there was an animation of the pilot being raised up and you could see his head and shoulders.

But it didn't change the pilots view in the cockpit so I assiged Q to raise the seat and that worked I got a better view!

BM357_Raven
10-26-2004, 02:14 PM
I havent used it yet and can get by just fine without it... But would be nice to try it..

S~

BuzzU
10-26-2004, 02:19 PM
I can't figure out why it doesn't work for me. I've assigned 2-3 different key strokes, and nothing works. I open the canopy, hit the button..nothing.

I'm trying it in the training missions. Does it work for you there?

weasel75
10-26-2004, 02:25 PM
Worked here like a charme. Maybe you were to fast?

But for me it has limited use, gauges are to far away, and without LSO I rather watch the speed from time to time. But maybe one can learn to fly without gauges....

LeLu_Repo
10-26-2004, 02:29 PM
You have to hit shift-f1, then change seat position.
-Repo-
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BuzzU:
I can't figure out why it doesn't work for me. I've assigned 2-3 different key strokes, and nothing works. I open the canopy, hit the button..nothing.

I'm trying it in the training missions. Does it work for you there? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

BuzzU
10-26-2004, 02:30 PM
It only works with the gunsight view on Shf-F1. Why did they set it up that way? Only the German planes use that. I'm not sure you can call this a bug. It sure isn't thought out well. I never assigned a button for the gunsight, because I never use it. What a waste of a button on my stick. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif

weasel75
10-26-2004, 02:41 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BuzzU:
I never assigned a button for the gunsight, because I never use it. What a waste of a button on my stick. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Are you serious? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif
(*dramatic screams*)

The gunsight-view is the best thing next to sliced bread!!! http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif


Besides of all the german aircrafts, the early P-47s need it too.
And in Full Real its the only way to move the head at least a little bit. I use it often to check for bandits ... the slight head-movement helps sometimes a lot (i.e. door-frame in P-39,e tc).

Anyway .. I just wanted to test out some fancy smilies http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Salute!

papaboon
10-26-2004, 02:44 PM
I've notice when sitting on the deck of a carrier in the Corsair, when the canopy is opened the pilot will raise from his seat!

BuzzU
10-26-2004, 02:48 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by papaboon:
I've notice when sitting on the deck of a carrier in the Corsair, when the canopy is opened the pilot will raise from his seat! <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

It does, but not in the cockpit.



As for why I never assigned a button to gunsight? I use TrackIR and POV in and out assigned to a button.

weasel75
10-26-2004, 02:59 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BuzzU:
As for why I never assigned a button to gunsight? I use TrackIR and POV in and out assigned to a button. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

TrackIR here too .. but still much need for gunsight, cause its the only way to look "around" certain bars and blocks. Just look left or right and press the gunsight-view - you'll see that your (virtual) head moves relative to the (virtual) aircraft. In some aircraft (esp. I-16) you get also a slightly better 6oclock-view when head is forward towards gunsight.

But, maybe cause I fly Axis from time to time too I need it more often http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

clayman_52
10-26-2004, 03:42 PM
Ya ... and we all like "sliced bread"! (great line weasel)

It's been the only way I can look around in the pit ... plus a much improved view down the bore. Check it out in other planes. Even in planes that we feel we may not need it ... like the Ki84 and all.