PDA

View Full Version : 4.01 and my stoneage rig



LilHorse
06-16-2005, 02:46 PM
So I DL'd the patch with much trepedation since my rig is pretty weak. I found much to my delight that offline with around 8 or 10 planes it ran nice and smooth.

So, online I go and the first map I jump into is Zekes vs. Wildcats Pearl Harbor. UUUGGHHH! I spawn on the big concrete base which is pretty rich in graphics and it's pretty stuttery for me. Still I manage to takeoff in a P-40B and get airborne. As I go higher and away from complex scenery of course things get better. A little jerky, but not too bad.

So my question is this: Is that base on that map particularly intensive graphics-wise? I'm thinking that maps with simpler fields will be friendlier to my rig. Guess I'll have to check out more online.

Also, are there more maps using the 3.04 clouds? The new clouds didn't seem to cause problems for me offline. But I wonder how much they are online.

Jasko76
06-16-2005, 03:07 PM
Ground objects require a lot of cpu/gpu power - houses, hangars, vehicles etc. That's why flying above Berlin and Leningrad is so stuttery. What is your system specs, btw?

Taylortony
06-16-2005, 03:11 PM
you could turn your graphics down a bit in settings, also try turning your connection down if you are adsl set it to 56k ..... smaller packets, means a quicker online game http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

sunflower1
06-16-2005, 04:33 PM
The concrete bases really put the hurt on frames on my rig, 9800pro. Try to stay on grass.

Dash_C.
06-16-2005, 10:24 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/6651075613

^This thread helped me out alot.

P4 3.0, 9600 Mobility, 512 mb RAM

LilHorse
06-17-2005, 09:00 AM
Originally posted by Jasko76:
Ground objects require a lot of cpu/gpu power - houses, hangars, vehicles etc. That's why flying above Berlin and Leningrad is so stuttery. What is your system specs, btw?

Ha ha! My laughable specs are....

1 or 1.2 gig (can't remember) PIII
512ram
16 bit http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif NVidia vid card

Again last night it was not too bad on the snowing Bastogne map (although I didn't get a chance to mix it up with anybody before in rotated). But I went to Zekes vs Wildcats on the Wake Island map and it was stutterama.

I tried some of Covino's tips. Can't say that they helped appreciativly. I may try tweaking some more with them. We'll see.

The190Flyer
06-17-2005, 10:11 AM
Yeah that is a pretty underpowered rig. I have a P4 2GHz with a gig of ram and an Nvidia 5200, and I consider mine cr@p. Buildin a new rig sometime in the future when I can scrounge up the money.

stubreez
06-17-2005, 11:41 AM
you could turn your graphics down a bit in settings, also try turning your connection down if you are adsl set it to 56k ..... smaller packets, means a quicker online game Smile

Does this really work? Thats kinda cool if it does.