PDA

View Full Version : new hardware ordered



bunkerratt
02-13-2008, 10:05 AM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115029
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121219
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811999121
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835100009

1 cpu 2 graphics cards 2 high volume fans and 1 tube of thermal compound....$633.92 usd should get here saturday...

andy3536
02-13-2008, 10:58 AM
Thsoe graghics cards look pretty good http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

You must be running at a high res if you want 2?

bunkerratt
02-13-2008, 11:06 AM
i run sh4 @1680x1050 on a 20.5 widescreen ..and yeah i run crossfired cards i reflashed my bios last week for the new cpu to get the 1333 fsb ..it's time to retire the single core p-4 along with the ati x1950 pro's ....the most time consuming part of this upgrade is getting the cpu cooler off the board i'm using a thermaltake big typhoon..it's a huge beast...the other good part is the new cpu and gpu's both use less power ...

Dinish
02-13-2008, 02:07 PM
If you don't mind what motherboard are you using? I've been thinking my next build will be CrossFired. After reading a bunch of reviews I think over all that is better than SLI.

bunkerratt
02-13-2008, 02:28 PM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131025

Messervy
02-13-2008, 06:13 PM
Nice BR.

Be sure once the rig is up and running to post 3D Mark score.

I gave the Asus mobo to my uncle and everything runs perfect.....because there is no RAID setup. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

bunkerratt
02-13-2008, 06:52 PM
i'll let ya know as soon as it's up and running...and honestly ...i've never had a problem with the board...it's been running in raid "0"since the day i got it

Messervy
02-13-2008, 08:07 PM
Single Raid yes, but two separate....No go.

I wanted to have one Raid 0 (2x160), and one Raid 1 (2x500 GB).

bunkerratt
02-13-2008, 08:23 PM
hmmmmm?...i'm using the intel controler for my raid 0 ...it would seem that if i were to use another raid set i'd have to use the jmicron controler for that set ..never had the need ..i only run raid "0"

Wolferz
02-14-2008, 07:00 AM
Nice!


I have a new Nforce 780I, socket 775 for my new Quad Core on the way. Capable of handling a triple bank of GPU's.

I'll be parking the new goodies in a brand new Antec P-180 case. Triple fans in that puppy.
I have a Zerotherm Butterfly CPU cooler too.
Maybe I can prevent SH IV from cooking it this time.
The new board is scheduled to arrive tomorrow but, according to UPS tracking, it's still in Cerritos CA. So I don't see it getting here before Monday or Tuesday. I am totally bummed out. At least until I think of the $100.00 cost of air shipment. LOL

bunkerratt
02-14-2008, 07:11 AM
i hate tracking a package...i went with the high cfm fans to replace the stock 90mm fans in my thermaltake armour case it has 4 fans total a 120mm intake and a 120 mm rear a 90mm rear and a 90mm blowhole.....my tracking says it due to be shipped today...it's sitting in the warehouse in city of industry california.....

Wolferz
02-14-2008, 07:47 AM
I hear ya, BR.
The three fans in this Antec are all 120mm. One at the stern.One in the conn, and one in the control room. That should keep my crew fully dressed. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif
I hate tracking shipments too. I ordered the board on the 11th and it shipped the same day. The tracking showed an arrival scan in Cerritos from Anaheim that night (practically next door) and it's been sitting there ever since. I'm hoping that it gets loaded on a plane bound for Philly or Harrisburg this morning. 3-5 day shipping sucks!

If it makes it to PA today I could very well receive it tomorrow.
I can't wait! "Butters, you have to freeze me!"

Wolferz
02-15-2008, 11:19 AM
Originally posted by Dinish:
If you don't mind what motherboard are you using? I've been thinking my next build will be CrossFired. After reading a bunch of reviews I think over all that is better than SLI.

Could you elaborate on your reasoning?

I could be wrong but, isn't crossfire pretty much the same thing as SLI? Just the ATI version.

Dinish
02-15-2008, 05:52 PM
You are right that Crossfire is Ati's version of Navidia's SLI but there are differences. I only wish I was knowledgeable enough to elaborate specifically but really I am a layperson when it comes to graphics cards. I decided before I take the plunge and build my next system I would try to become more informed. So, I've been reading reviews these last few months and it is strictly my opinion that Ati is slightly better. Of course I have a predetermined bias in that my presnt card is Ati and I've had good luck with it. It is also my opinion, the way games are pushing grahics, that multiple GPU systems are the way of the future. So I think Ati's acquistion last year by AMD may give Crossfire an inherent 'onboard' advantage over the next couple of years if you use AMD processors. Again, these are my opinions only. I'd be very interested in hearing from anyone with real experience.

Wolferz
02-18-2008, 06:16 PM
You get your new rig built, BR? I did and boy oh boy does it scream! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif After getting a bad XFX 680I mainboard from Tiger Direct and sending it back, I ordered a 780I LT from EVGA.
Married it up with an Intel Quad Core @ 2.4 Ghz and 4 gig of Corsair DDR2 memory. Now I'm waiting for the price to drop on the 8800 GPUs as I will be needing three of them. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif