PDA

View Full Version : Running Myst V on Duel Monitor



Aitch
09-13-2005, 11:51 AM
I just received my long awaited copy of Myst V.

Installed it, and now I can't get it to run on my main monitor, even though I have it set as the Primary monitor.
The same happened on Myst IV, but I managed to get it running on the primary monitor in just a few clicks.

But I can't get it to run on the main monitor - no matter what I do.

Any suggestions?? I'm desperate to start playing this http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Aitch

Aitch
09-13-2005, 11:54 AM
Okay.. I now managed to get it to run on the main monitor by setting it as the secondary monitor.

It's a bit frustrating though.

Any other ideas will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot.
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif
Aitch

neo...1
09-13-2005, 11:57 AM
Hey Aitch!

This was brought up briefly in regards to the demo a while ago at the following thread:

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/5811098262...871045153#3871045153 (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/5811098262/m/8811092943/r/3871045153#3871045153)

There's not too much here but my quick answer was/is to simply go into your display properties settings...& disable "Extend my Windows desktop onto this computer" for your Secondary monitor. After you're done playing & if you would like to return to your dual monitor setup just re-enable or check the box.

Check out the link for a little more detail...hope this helps!

Equisilus
09-18-2005, 02:54 PM
Excellent. When the game arrives this week, I'll be able to troubleshoot this problem rather quickly if it crops up. Thanks for posting the solution.

I'll be hooking up my 20.1" widescreen LCD as my primary with my 19" CRT as secondary. Hopefully Myst V will look great in widescreen. Time to hunt down some other tech tips/issues.

Brobotics
09-21-2005, 07:24 AM
I also noticed it with the demo and it's highly annoying to switch primary setting cause other games do use the correct output so then for other games its wrong and only for myst v good.. would have thought it would be an easy fix for them just before the final release.. guess they dont really read the forums http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Equisilus
09-21-2005, 02:40 PM
For me, I'll just right click on my ATI system tray icon and click 'Disable display' for the secondary monitor, and re-enable afterwards. Two clicks and it's done (takes a second or two) and isn't going to bother me much (although it'd have been nice for it to work correctly from the start).

Heimdall_G
09-21-2005, 02:52 PM
And for the record, in case you're waiting for a patch....

Since Cyan has been forced to cut its staff down to President Tony Fryman and CEO Rand Miller, any patches will most likely be released by Ubisoft. (See More Details on Cyan (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/3471054943/m/5141021553).) This may make patches problematic.

Plus, these forums are only sponsored by Ubisoft, not run by them - all of us Moderators are unpaid volunteers. I'm not at all certain that the Ubi tech support folks ever read anything that's posted in any of the Ubi-sponsored forums. Reading about problems in order to help solve them would seem to be a no-brainer, but....

Be all of that as it may, watch this forum for posts about patches. We may get lucky!