PDA

View Full Version : Teamspeak overlay.



thefruitbat
01-30-2010, 12:43 PM
Hi all, its just come to my attention when i decided to reinstall teamspeak overlay, that i can't, because it says it doesn't work on 64bit systems http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/bigtears.gif

anyone got any suggestions, i seem to remember that there was something else floating around, but can't remember what it was called????

cheers fruitbat

VF-17_Jolly
01-30-2010, 01:09 PM
Quote "Our next generation TeamSpeak 3 software has been highly improved compared to its predecessors. For starters, both the Client and Server are now available as a flexible cross-platform solution for Windows (32bit and 64bit), Mac OS X (Intel and PPC) and Linux (32bit and 64bit). All platforms are 100% feature compatible and feature rich so regardless of which platform you use, all new features will be available across all platforms upon TeamSpeak 3's launch date."

Teamspeak 3 beta is available

http://www.teamspeak.com/?page=downloads

thefruitbat
01-30-2010, 01:16 PM
yeah, i've seen that and it looks great, a big improvement, but unfortunatly its not compatible with ts2 if i reacall, and untill servers start using it, i'll have to stay with ts2.

thanks anyway,

fruitbat

Choctaw111
01-30-2010, 01:50 PM
I had a lot of trouble with that on my WinXP Pro 32.
I hope you get it to work.

RS_Deacon
01-30-2010, 02:20 PM
Did you try to run it XP compatible and as an admin?

Worked for me.

thefruitbat
01-30-2010, 02:32 PM
yep, i wasn't holding out much hope though, as it says specifically that it doesn't support 64bit systems on the download page.

crap.

Waldo.Pepper
01-30-2010, 03:11 PM
Why fight it? Install a second monitor and just move the teamspeak window there - and abandon the overlay. Not what you want but perhaps it will do.

na85
01-30-2010, 03:23 PM
not everyone has the graphical horsepower or the wallet horsepower for 2 monitors.

thefruitbat
01-30-2010, 05:03 PM
hmmm, as it happens i have a 17ins samsung CRT just sitting on my floor doing nothing, and have a gtx280, might be worth a try, how much of a performance hit is that likely to make?

Its a real pain, not being able to see who is speaking.

now, have i got enough desk space....

Waldo.Pepper
01-30-2010, 05:31 PM
how much of a performance hit is that likely to make?

I remember talk back a few years ago that there will be a couple frames lost. But there is only one way to know for sure. Try it out, its not that big of a project to toss in a card/driver kick her in the slats and taker her up for a spin is it?

I recently upgraded from a 19 inch crt which I had flanked by two 17 inch crt's. I replaced the 19 inch with a 27 inch widescreen lcd. I kept the 17 incher on the left, while ditching the right hand 17 inch. Surprisingly, I miss it! Personally I can never have enough monitor real estate.

thefruitbat
01-30-2010, 05:43 PM
couple of frames, damn i'm on it, thanks for the advice waldo, shall try it tomorrow http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

cheers fruitbat

thefruitbat
01-31-2010, 11:49 AM
Well hooked it up temporarily, just to check, and have excatly the same fps in black death as before, so now to work out how to rearrange everything so the second monitor fits on my desk!!!!

cheers for the idea Waldo http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

fruitbat

dirkpit7
01-31-2010, 01:10 PM
Teamspeak Overlay does work on 64 bit systems, at least on my Vista 64 bit. I think the only thing I had to do was to set the install executable to XP compatibility mode before running it.

KG26_Alpha
01-31-2010, 01:50 PM
Official Statement

System Requirements

This software is legacy, therefore it does not support:

* Windows Vista or Windows 7
* Any Windows Server OS
* Any 64-Bit version of Windows
* Integration with TeamSpeak 3
* DirectX versions > 9

The following are the system requirements for TSO at 2006:

* Windows 2000 or Windows XP SP2 / SP3 32-Bit ONLY.
* DirectX 9.0b or 9.0c
* TeamSpeak 2 2.0.33 (Official Client)
* Nvidia ForceWare Drivers 53.04 or newer
* or ATI Catalyst Drivers 4.3 or newer



But you could try this For TS2 only not TS3

http://www.projecttint.com/teamspeakoverlay.php

Installing:
1) Right-Click (RC) installer> Properties > Compatibility > select run in WinXP compatibility mode; Disable Desktop Composition; Run this program as an administrator
2) Click OK
3) Run installer

Running program
1) Right Click TSO icon and select all the options as above in step 1
2) Run TSO
3) Click Options > Debug > Compatibility "Use alternative DirectX method"
4) Add your TS name in the general tab
5) Click enable and run IL2

Waldo.Pepper
01-31-2010, 04:01 PM
Originally posted by thefruitbat:
... and have exactly the same fps in black death as before,
fruitbat

Well pleased for you FB. But later posters have got it working in 64- bit iterations of windows, so maybe you need not go this route after all. Of course there is always the added monitor space that my modest suggestion has now made you a slave to.

RAF_OldBuzzard
01-31-2010, 07:25 PM
Originally posted by thefruitbat:
Well hooked it up temporarily, just to check, and have excatly the same fps in black death as before, so now to work out how to rearrange everything so the second monitor fits on my desk!!!!

cheers for the idea Waldo http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif
fruitbat


Here's a link to an application that is almost a must if you are using 2 or more monitors:
http://www.realtimesoft.com/ultramon/

I've been using 2x monitors since the days when you had to have two PCI cards to run them, and Ultramon is still be best app I've ever seen for managing multiple monitors.

Not free, but you can use it for 30 days to evaluate. Personally, I think it would have been a bargain at twice the price. It's that good.

Waldo.Pepper
02-01-2010, 12:22 AM
Ultramon

+1 on everything Raf OB said.

Check PM FB.