PDA

View Full Version : Wow, never noticed this about Spits!!

mortoma
08-06-2008, 10:11 AM
I hardly ever fly Spitfires. And it shows!! I never realized that only the Spit 5s allow you to change prop pitch! The 8 and 9 models disallow it.

And I can't figure out why, because the cockpit shows a prop control lever just like the Spit 5s have! I'm no Spitfire expert ( like we have many of here in the forums ) but I'd find it hard to believe that Spit 8s and 9s didn't have a constant speed prop that allowed for RPM changes!! A mistake on Oleg's part? You experts please tell me.

Also noticed the Spit 8 has a retractable tail wheel but the 9s revert back to the fixed! At least in the game. Why did the British do that? Seems a retractable is well worth the extra weight penalty as it offers a more streamlined aircraft.

JtD
08-06-2008, 10:17 AM
You can change prop pitch on all models, but you need to switch off auto-pitch first.

The Spit VIII is a later model than the IX, which is just a V with a new engine. So naturally it is more refined, for instance it has a retractable tail wheel.

SlickStick
08-06-2008, 10:17 AM
Originally posted by mortoma:
I hardly ever fly Spitfires. And it shows!! I never realized that only the Spit 5s allow you to change prop pitch! The 8 and 9 models disallow it.

And I can't figure out why, because the cockpit shows a prop control lever just like the Spit 5s have! I'm no Spitfire expert ( like we have many of here in the forums ) but I'd find it hard to believe that Spit 8s and 9s didn't have a constant speed prop that allowed for RPM changes!! A mistake on Oleg's part? You experts please tell me.

Also noticed the Spit 8 has a retractable tail wheel but the 9s revert back to the fixed! At least in the game. Why did the British do that? Seems a retractable is well worth the extra weight penalty as it offers a more streamlined aircraft.