PDA

View Full Version : Dos Box / Windows XP / SH1



morgoth2005
01-09-2005, 06:26 AM
I am trying to get SH1 to work on Win XP and have been told to download DOSBOX.

Habe done this but still cant get the game to work.

Can someone give me an idiots guide on how to do this please.

Thanks

morgoth2005
01-09-2005, 06:26 AM
I am trying to get SH1 to work on Win XP and have been told to download DOSBOX.

Habe done this but still cant get the game to work.

Can someone give me an idiots guide on how to do this please.

Thanks

Jose.MaC
01-09-2005, 07:04 AM
Do a full instalation f the game on you HD.
Let's say you do it in e:/oldgames/sh

Open Dosbox and type (to mount your virtual hard drive), asuming the path of your game is "c:/oldgames/sh/":

mount c c:/oldgames/sh

And then move to drive c. Files of the game may be there, awaiting from you to play it.

If you have to mount a CD, then type (asuming your CD is f: drive):

mount d f:\ -t cdrom

Worked for me. You've more instructions in the help and readme files! And you can go to the DOSBox forums.

morgoth2005
01-09-2005, 07:29 AM
Thanks for that, its working now.

Take her down chief..... 100 meters

skipper249
01-11-2005, 03:19 AM
i have somewhat a similar question, im running SH1 with 1.31 version in dos box also. I can run the game until it starts loading the world map when i set out from port to start my career, then it shuts down back to dos box and tells me that it can not read my ships.dat file.

Anyone have this problem or maybe i have a bad ships.dat file but i have reinstalled several times and i get the same message. I wish i know where i can download a ships.dat file

any help is much appreciated.