PDA

View Full Version : water quality



jnylund
11-12-2004, 11:24 PM
I have tried editing the conf file to water=2 or 3, but get seemingly the same, flat yet reflective water. I also change force shaders=1 but when I go into the game, exit and recheck the file it is back to =0? What am I missing?

P4 2.4GHz
512 MB Ram
Geforce 6800GT 256MB video card

Viper_42
11-12-2004, 11:59 PM
Try getting the latest drivers from evga.com that worked for me.

jnylund
11-13-2004, 11:48 AM
well now, after some fiddling I am able to change the water quality. Next question: what does it take to run water quality=3? It sure looks beautiful, but it brings my system to it's knees.

What do you think would make the most difference, a newer processor running an 800MHz FSB, or upgrading RAM to 1G?

-HH- Beebop
11-13-2004, 12:54 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by jnylund:
well now, after some fiddling I am able to change the water quality. Next question: what does it take to run water quality=3? It sure looks beautiful, but it brings my system to it's knees.

What do you think would make the most difference, a newer processor running an 800MHz FSB, or upgrading RAM to 1G? <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

IIRC you need an nVidia 6800 card. (can't remember which model as I'm an ATI man). Water=3 uses pixelshaders that are only available on that model of nVidia card.

The most difference? Start with getting at least 1 GB of RAM. You don't mention what video card you're using. That may be the next step. Also what CPU are you using? Ideally you need a 3.0 P4 or better if running Intel, although a high 2,(2.8) can be made to work. If running AMD you'll need to ask someone who's more familiar with that option.

Overshoot
11-13-2004, 12:54 PM
My system runs beautifully with everything maxed. Specs in sig

BuzzU
11-13-2004, 12:56 PM
I've heard some guys say their running 3 water, but I doubt they're getting playable fps in all situations.

jnylund
11-13-2004, 01:08 PM
Sorry, original post had specs:

P4 2.4GHz at 533FSB
512 MB Ram
Geforce 6800GT card

Is there a big difference in going to a 800MHz fsb CPU? I'm beginning to feel like new RAM is the best option...

LW_Cobra
11-13-2004, 01:52 PM
My system:
MBoard - Abit 1C7 Max 3
P4 3.0GHz
PNY 256 Mb 6800GT - not overclocked
1 Gb RAM - 2 matched Corsair 2-2-2-5 Xtreme Pro Series memory (512Mb x2)
Main HD with FB+AE+PF is a WD Raptor 10k SATA 36Gb
Antec 430W power supply

And with water set to 3 with Perfect enabled and all others settings on their highest, makes PF a Slide Show on my computer. I'm not sure how others are running it without any stutter. The water however is jaw-droppingly beautiful.

Blottogg
11-13-2004, 02:24 PM
jnylund, you've got the proper hardware to run Perfect and water=3, but as you've noticed, it makes a big reduction in fps. You've probably already discovered that you need to be operating in OpenGL mode too, with Multitexture selected.

For the time being, the prettiest water is reserved for screenshots. An alternative might be to reduce resolution a notch, and cut back on AA/AF to help frame rates. I'm addicted to 1600x1200x32 though, so for the time being I'm running with water=1 or 2. I've also got a 6800GT card. Those with 6800Ultra's and/or overclocking might be able to play at high resolution with water=3, but for the most part, the games graphics still extend farther than existing hardware can reach, so some tradeoffs are necessary in the graphics settings.