PDA

View Full Version : Grafics Card ?



Ken_Det
10-01-2005, 05:33 PM
Right now I have a 64MB nVidia GeForce2 MX card.
I'm thinking of getting a nVidia 5500 card.
Would this be a good card for Forgotten Battles.
It comes in eather GPU, or PCI.
Any thought's on this, or should I get a nother type of a card.
Kendall

danjama
10-01-2005, 05:36 PM
can u please post your CPu and RAM specs. That card would be a good step up from what you have but they are both old! Depending on your CPU and RAM, (im assuming u have AGP here) you could get a really decent AGP card but that might be a waste of money. Otherwise a 5500 should do ok, i played it for two years on it.

Jaco_Erdwurm
10-01-2005, 07:19 PM
I have an FX5500 256mb AGP made by BFG, I bought a ATI 9800 pro 256,but unfortunately since ATI sucks it didnt even work out of the box,so I RMAd it 2 weeks ago and still havent gotten it back,I run perfect settings online with my 5500,runs great,I have 3 gig HT cpu and 1.25 gigs of ram though that is a consisderation,BFGs cards are over clocked out ofthe box,but they have a lifetime warranty I gotta say it was a good buy

arcadeace
10-01-2005, 08:05 PM
A good step up would be ATI€s 9600Pro or NV€s FX5700.

I found a 9600Pro here (http://www.mwave.com/mwave/skusearch.hmx?SCriteria=AA21950&CartID=done&nextloc=) for $65.00.

A FX5700 here (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814133153) (presently out of stock) for $59.00.

BurningBeard
10-01-2005, 08:30 PM
When using the Nvidia card, go to the Nvidia website and download N-Tune, it will help ALOT. Before using it the FPS would drop off drastically whenever I was strafing ground objects or was near ships. Now I can run perfect at 1152 x 864 32b and still get 30 fps under graphic intense situations.

AMD 3000+
nvidia 6800 128
1gb ram
Raid
xp


Beard

ytareh
10-01-2005, 08:31 PM
Ken by the sound of your question you may be unsure of graphics card types .They come as the older but for people with existing systems more common "AGP" and the newer "PCI Express"(NOT the same as "PCl").(Im assuming youre not in the market for an SLi system with 'dual linked graphics cards'!)If you already have a pc that you like/wont be changing for a year or two then you most likely have an AGP system(its the motherboard which has the slots for AGP OR PCl Express-one or the other)The good news is that the PCl express cards havent REALLY left the AGP(if thats what you have) ones very far behind at this stage-only out a year or so.There should be no problem picking up a great card either new(actually might be getting a bit rare...) or certainly secondhand.Of course if youre maybe getting a new pc anytime soon you would have to think very seriously about a PCl Express card-of course it wont work in an AGP slot motherboard...Think we definitely need to know more about what youve got at the moment and how the finances are!!!{gpu means graphics processor unit -like the cpu for your graphics card}

Ken_Det
10-01-2005, 09:36 PM
GPU, LOL http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif I ment AGP.
I have a Compaq Presario 5000 ser. 5430us.
XP Home Ed. Ser. pack 2
1.80GHz Pentium 4 processor.
1.79GHz, 512MB of Ram.
80GB hard drive.
Dont know what kind of mother board I have but it looks like only 1 slot for a card.

My vidio card works ok for the game but I would like to upgrade to a better one.
I do have the Cash, but dont need a card with a hole lot of extras I wont need http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif
I just want the game to look more realistic than it allready is http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif
Some thing that has a fan to cool the main chip being that I play the game for a couple of hours at a time http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif
Here is a screen shot of in game play.
That I have to reinstall thanks to my hard drive failing, and having to replace.
I was jumped by a BF110 a few min. before I took the screen shot http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/cry.gif
http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0awBkAKYhw1tqb*40*iiYV1wieOayI!hzRmQ11hsVX8MO7hstr 8iGwXbzB*pvZYsbkvLhSBZuXSZ7I*J98r4Cs01KxeaSGiZfDOg MnTsT5!n29BryldZjyPN8cZwt2tT5Mcrr*LQbzXdAZ3mxnVNxd wlGRYQxSmbv/iviewcapture_date_09_07_2005_time_02_18_34.jpg?dc= 4675529991543021564

Dolemite-
10-01-2005, 09:47 PM
Stay away from the FX series cards.

Buy a 6200 or a 6600, they are a lot better than any FX card and cost about the same.


here is a good place to search for a new card:

http://guru3d.pricegrabber.com/search_attrib.php/page_id=5

1.JaVA_Razer
10-02-2005, 05:30 AM
MANIAC, stop being a Nvidia fanboy and bashing ATI because frankly , A 9700PRO even smacks the FX 5500 out of the field. 9800Pro's are superior to the ENTRIRE FX line. THe FX line was cr@p, admit it. The architecture was flawed and the series was a compelte financial disaster for Nvidia. Even if you ask the CEO of Nvidia yourself he'll still say FX series was most likly the worst series they ever produced to date.

Now lets discuss Ken's problem


Originally posted by Ken_Det:
GPU, LOL http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif I ment AGP.
I have a Compaq Presario 5000 ser. 5430us.
XP Home Ed. Ser. pack 2
1.80GHz Pentium 4 processor.
1.79GHz, 512MB of Ram.
80GB hard drive.


A 1.8 P4, I'm guessing willamet core = old and not so good.
512MB RAM, to low

What I suggest for you:
A 9800PRO with a RAM upgrade to 1GB AT LEAST. this will make more room for the CPU to breath but your CPU is still outdated so.... with every card you're gonna have the problem of your CPU being the bottleneck so we'll have to avoid the CPU as much as we can.

Either instead of a 9800PRO you can also go for a 6600PRo or something. THey are on par with a 9800Pro, a bit better even and they have Shader Model 3 which will give you an edge over the 9800pro in newer generation games that use SM3.0
A RAM upgrade is a must I feel for you. Your CPU is weak to say the least(still decent but....) and since I don't know iuf you have a decent hard drive ( manufacturer and/or designation/specs would be nice.) I'm guessing a seagate or Western digital 8O GB 7200RPM with like 2MB of Read/write cache. good enough but could be better(8MB cache on the HDD would be best) so better be safe then sorry and get a ram upgrade to 1GB AT LEAST to avoid swap file usage.

THe overall combination of the 6600 with the increase in ram will do wonders for your system

Professor1942
10-02-2005, 11:01 AM
Get a whole new system, if you can... I'd give that Compaq to an elementary school or something... hell, I'm already getting ready to ditch my 2.8c http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Ken_Det
10-02-2005, 11:08 AM
Western Digital 80GB 7200RPM.
When I talked to Ubi.support over the phone about my system they said It was ok for the game.
I bought the computer in 2002.
I know things get better every year but you make it sound like I have a dinosaur.
When I play the game with Norton, and spysweeper turned off I have no problems at all.
No stuter's at all.
I would like to have a more realistic looking game.
Thats all.
I was looking at the 5500 at Wallmart the other day, and noticed that it had it own prosser chip, and was thinkig that it would be more helpful, not to mention it cost $129.99.
It came in APG, and PCI.
Being that my computer mother board is a APG I would guess the APG card is the one to get,If I got it.
I would like to stay with nVidia though.

ytareh
10-02-2005, 11:25 AM
The previous poster wasnt really far off the mark.Those generic pcs ie Compaq,Dell,etc are made to a budget and chances are almost every component is not great for gaming.It really does depend on your budget and what you prioritise ....Ive no shame in admitting my current car cost less than my graphics card(and I do nearly 80 miles a day in it!)It is SO common for people (myself included )to upgrade bit by bit over a year as they get more and more into the game and end up spending more than if they'd got the mega system in the first place while having a below par pc at the end of it all...If someone was analysing my posts theyd call me a hypocrite cos I was tellling a guy last week that the dearer cards arent really worth the money.Maybe you should wait for a couple of months .New cards are on the way which will bring down the prices of the rest.Have to say that your screenshot isnt half bad for your system but I guess the frame rate doesnt show up in a screenshot....

danjama
10-02-2005, 01:49 PM
an ATi 9800 or a Nvidia 6200 would be ok for whatyou want. Dont bother gettin a 6600or a X800 caus they will just be bottlenecked by the rest of your system. Also i wouldnt use Ntune like someone said. They do things that shouldnt be done to your motherboard and will prolly fry it in the end. Use Nvidia Hardpage or RivaTuner instead.

Ken_Det
10-02-2005, 03:40 PM
Thanks for the input people http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif
One of you stated that 512MB of ram was not enuff http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif
The game calls for 256MB RAM(512MB recommended)
I have 512MB.
The reason I would like to upgrade is when down cloase to the ground things dont look as good as some of the screen shots I see on here.
I just updated my card at the XP update center.
I have some options now that I did not have before.
1. Anisotropc filter (off or 2X)
2. Anisotropic filtering (application controlled 2X or 4X)
3. Image settings (quality,performance,high performance)

Any thoughts on these 3 things?

danjama
10-02-2005, 04:33 PM
what card do you have and ill tell you what settings to use!?! Or page me and ill help ya with a whole load of stuff

-HH-Quazi
10-02-2005, 04:51 PM
The box recommends 512MB memory, but trust us, it takes at least a minimum of 768MB, and preferrably 1GB to run this game really well.

And even if you have those extra settings you mentioned, they will put a big hurting on your current card m8. For your processor, a 9800Pro, or a 6600GT will allow you even higher AA and AF settings. This is when you will get the IQ to looking really good.

I know your rig was made to sound like a dinosaur. Don't take this personally m8. Proprietary rigs like Compaq, Dell, etc., do not lend themselves to great gaming. But the fact that you do have a AGP slot for a decent video card, and the ability to increase your memory to 768MB or even 1GB, does help trmendously.

I have a Dell Dimension 4550 that was bought new in 2002 that I have flat out upgraded as far as I can, with the highest cpu it was capable of running, 1GB of PC2700 memory, and its' current 9800Pro, it runs this sim very smoothly in Perfect Landscape and 4X AA and 8X AF. It looks good graphically. And it runs great with fr's always staying above 32 fps.

So pick you up a 9800Pro, or better yet, a 9800XT on the ATI side of things, or, a 5950Ultra or a 6600GT on the Nvidia side of things for a video card. Increase your ram at least by another 256MB for a total of 768MB memory. And since memory for your rig is so reasonable in price these days, there's no reson you can't go ahead and get 1GB of memory.

And there's one more componet you can purchase that will not break the bank, and will probably give you a 5 fps to 8 fps increase in gameplay given you cpu is rather weak, and that is an Audigy 2 Value sound card. It has it's on APU to process in game sounds so your cpu doesn't have to waste its' resources doing so. These can be had for $40 to $50 retail. Or do what I did and pick an auction on ebay and pay as little as $15 plus shipping for one.

Ebay is a great source for the video cards I mentioned above. I have seen 9800Pro with Buy It Now prices of $80 in the past. If you go with ATI, try to get a 9800XT. If you go with Nvidia, I saw a 5950Ultra sell for $51 today. These are the equivlent of ATIs' 9800XT. Either one of these cards will do you fine. Actually better than fine compared to your current card.

danjama
10-02-2005, 08:01 PM
I have an Audigy 2, and i gotta say even if it dont improve ur Frames, it sounds bloody amazin out of the box. Well worth it. I no laugh at people who saythe game sounds are craap

Ken_Det
10-02-2005, 08:38 PM
danjama
I have a 64MB nVvidia Geforce2 MX Grafics Card with TV out.
What do you recamend for settings ?

Jaco_Erdwurm
10-03-2005, 09:57 AM
Ken just needs a new PC frankly,and all that stuff is all fine well about ATI ,JAVA is all fine well and good ,and I belive your right about the FX series,but mine runs fine(Its Overclocked 35-40 FPS in most cases is how it runs IL2) any way My ATI 9800m pro 256 would have been great I was really excited about it, IF HAD EVEN FR*&^ing WORKED OUT OF THE BOX and if ATIs customer service didnt SUCK!!!! I probably would have loved the card but it took two weeks to get an RMA because they were to stupid to realize the card was so new that the warranty department didnt even have the 102 # yet( what kinda BS is that) so they insisted that the card wasnt made by ATI,(wich it said quite planley on the outside of the box) what a bunch of idiots,it took them 2 weeks to figure this out, well it has been ,2 months now Im out three hundred bucks ,still havent got the card yet, So from a customer service stand point, ATI blows and Ill never buy another, So if you think they are so great you can have them JAVA

Airmail109
10-03-2005, 11:00 AM
6200 is a piece of ****...the 9800 pro is far closer to the 6600 in terms of performance...my old Geforce 3 Ti500 out performs a 6200...the 9800 pro will be fine in his system.

Professor1942
10-03-2005, 12:15 PM
Originally posted by Ken_Det:
Western Digital 80GB 7200RPM.
When I talked to Ubi.support over the phone about my system they said It was ok for the game.
I bought the computer in 2002.
I know things get better every year but you make it sound like I have a dinosaur.


I didn't mean to sound insulting, but I've dealt with many Compaq PC's in the past and they generally don't do very well with component upgrades. Things you might want to look into are:

1) Will a newer graphics card even fit in the case? Newer cards like the 9800, 6800 etc. are considerably bigger than the Geforce 2's.

2) Is your power supply sufficient to power a better graphics card? If it's only 250-300 Watts it will not be enough. Replacing the psu in a Compaq is a serious pain, as you usually have to take the entire system apart.

3) Do you really want to spend money on an AGP card when AGP is currently being phased out? When you put together a better system, most likely the boards available will be PCI-e only.

Good luck! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

P.S. for the price you mentioned on the 5500, you could get a 9800 Pro or similar which would be much, much better... try newegg.com

Ken_Det
10-03-2005, 01:30 PM
No problems Professor1942, none taken.
I did not want to start a Graphics card war here, but it looks like I did.
My rig runs the game smooth as silk, and just thought about making it a little more real looking down cloase to the ground.
Wich is where I like to bring my pursuers http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/59.gif
Now lets keep the fight in the sky people http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif