PDA

View Full Version : WARNING-Photobucket MAY have been hacked-sumthin's not right in any event.

Enforcer572005
01-24-2009, 10:53 AM
Um, I am no expert, but I have suddenly loss access to my extensive album and can't upload anything anymore due to an unending add for security software that "scans" my computer and won't let me leave until I dlload this program. It won't take no for an answer. It says I've got all kinds of malware on my computer, but I can't access the entire list.

It also claims it's AVG, but I have the latest edition of AVG on my computer and when IT scanned at my prompting (independant of the add) it only found one spyware program (from there I think) that it quickly eliminated, not the huge list of dangerous stuff this ad partially listed. I've had AVG for yrs and it's always worked quite well, but this....."thing" .....is keeping me from using photobucket.

I DID NOT dnload the program that it kept trying to force on me, claiming it was AVG, so I can only hope it added nothing harmful. If this is really an AVG add, it's pretty lame, but I don't think it is.

I dunno if this only affects my computer or what, but I thought I'd warn you people. Looks a bit odd to me, and I can't believe photobucket would allow such a disruptive advertiser to interfere with thier site. I can only assume there is a high likelihood that this is NOT actually AVG but some kinda virus crap. I cannot contact photobucket to ask about it due to this thing.

I just thought I'd say something.

Fledermaus578
01-24-2009, 11:13 AM
I was on Photobucket earlier this morn, and just now after reading your post.
No problems.. no virus warnings.
You may have picked it up somewhere else.

B16Enk
01-24-2009, 11:21 AM
My Photobucket looks ok to Enforcer..

Tell you what though M8, we have sufficient bandwidth and space that I could set up a photo gallery just for you over @ the pound...

PF_Coastie
01-24-2009, 11:39 AM
You have the Antivirus 09 virus.