PDA

View Full Version : Training Missions Messed up?



02-08-2004, 12:19 PM
Is it me..or are soem of the training missions messed up? In the second Bf109 training missing..the plan crashes after takeoff..but the "Instructor" keeps talking (words continue to appear at the top of the screen). This isn't a very good flight instructor..lol..Anyone know why this does this?..Thanks!

Siegfried.

02-08-2004, 12:19 PM
Is it me..or are soem of the training missions messed up? In the second Bf109 training missing..the plan crashes after takeoff..but the "Instructor" keeps talking (words continue to appear at the top of the screen). This isn't a very good flight instructor..lol..Anyone know why this does this?..Thanks!

Siegfried.

plumps_
02-08-2004, 12:57 PM
Let me guess -- you're talking about IL2, not FB. Read the FAQ at mudmovers:

http://www.mudmovers.com/sturmovik_101/FAQ.htm

"My plane crashes during the training missions before they are done. Please help!"

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>
Q: My plane crashes during the training missions before they are done. Please help!

A: The training missions from the CD use different flight modelling than all other versions of the sim. The problems include, but are not limited to, having the AI plane crash in the middle of the training, or having the subtitled text not match what the plane is doing. Fly the training missions on the CD version before applying any upgrades or patches.

One solution for this from michapma is to:

1) Install from the box.
2) Copy the contents of the IL-2 Sturmovik folder exactly to a parallel folder with a different name, such as "IL-2 Sturmovik boxed version"
3) Patch the version in the first IL-2 Sturmovik folder to 1.2 (that is, first 1.1a and then 1.2, then 1.2ov if you want to install other voices on the radio)
4) Use the version in the "IL-2 Sturmovik boxed version" folder to view track files.
5) Copy any other patched versions from the "IL-2 Sturmovik boxed version" folder, following the same procedure as you did to patch to 1.2 (there are lots of good tracks for version 1.04 and 1.1).

I personally have 3 versions of IL-2 installed in parallel.

-----

Q: Why don't my tracks / training missions work?

A: 2 possibilities:
1) The tracks were recorded with an older patch level than you're running with your current installation (tracks won't work with a new patch if the flight model of the plane you recorded was changed). Most of the training missions will only work with the original game.
2) You might have used a lot of time compression or pausing in the mission that you recorded. If you want to make sure a track will be replayable then
- don't use time acceleration and deceleration
- don't switch views too frequently
- don't pause the game
This is especially important for slower PCs. Also, the longer your track is the higher the possibility that it'll get screwed up.


<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

-----------------------------------
http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/stulogo-banner.jpg (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/)

Kampagne für IL-2 1.2: I-16 - Kampf im Kaukasus (Deutsch) (http://home.arcor.de/rayluck/sturmovik/kampagne.html)