PDA

View Full Version : What is this ki100?

MOhz
06-11-2005, 09:04 AM
I thought it was some über Japanese wonder weapon answer plane, but as far as I have seen, it is not fast nor does it seem to climb very well... Please explain to me what the ki100 is all about. THanks!

FatBoyHK
06-11-2005, 09:13 AM
lol, the first time I see a Ki100 online, I shot it down.

Enough kidding http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif I think Ki84 is a better plane, but I am no expert.

MOhz
06-11-2005, 09:27 AM
Nice job, lol!

LEBillfish
06-11-2005, 09:41 AM
The Japanese HA-40 then subsequent HA-140 used on the Ki-61 series of planes was not only a difficult engine to manufacture, but had many many problems with the fuel system, filters, etc.. It has even been quoted as saying it had built in leaks.

It was not uncommon for a flight of say 6 Ki-61 to roll out preparing for a mission, and have 1 or 2 simply sieze up on the runway.

There are photographs of Ki-61 airframes literally stored in the forest waiting for engines next to the plant...Engines that never came. More so, ground crews simply were not used to working with them, so it was also common as U.S. toops over-ran bases to find fully intact damged motor planes just rolled off to the side.

However, the airframe was outstanding, one point I think neet is that in contrast to the BF 109-E series, the Ki-61 did not use connecting rods to mount the motor but a "Uni-body construction where the side cowling was actually stamped and supported it.

So the army fed up with lack of planes on Oct. 24th, 1944 ORDERED Kawasaki to stop messing with the liquid cooled engine and adopt the Mitsubishi HA-112 II radial engine to the plane instead...

Hence if you look at the plane, it looks like they took a Ki-61-II Kai, and chopped off the front engine mount area of the plane, and simply mounted the engine like was done in FW190-A5's, and made a cowling to fit it.