PDA

View Full Version : A Noob has questions



perthswimmer
02-09-2007, 11:51 PM
Dudes, Ive been playing `46 offline for a few weeks now, and i have a coupe of questions.

How do you get online?, im patched up to 4.08, (except for the dedicated server patches), and ive downloaded Hyperlobby. When i try to tune in to Hyperlobby i get a message saying "unable to find root directory".
Am i missing a patch somewhere? do i need the dedicated server patches, and what is a dedicated server anyway?

Also. totally different question, but is there a tutorial on how to use the full mission bulider as i have no idea on how to build a full mission.

thanks fellas

Charos
02-10-2007, 12:07 AM
Fire up hyperlobby and when you have the app open hold down "CTRL + SHFT" while you press connect in hyperlobby.

This will bring up another screen - enter the correct game path you have installed to and press save.

You should now be good to go.

MrMojok
02-10-2007, 12:07 AM
Hyperlobby is as simple as can be. Install it, it will ask for a name and password to join, and then you'll see the server list. I recently had a problem with two versions of the game installed, and had to manually point it to the right one, though.

Look at the stickies at the top of this thread; they should give you a great start for mission and campaign building:

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums/a/frm/f/50910533

knightflyte
02-10-2007, 12:33 AM
Did you chose the correct game? I think there's options for IL-2 and FB.

I don't recall which is the right one to choose, but I remember having the same problem and having to reselect the game. Once I did get the right one Hyperlobby found my EXE with no problemo.

muchaclopiec
04-29-2007, 12:15 AM
Originally posted by perthswimmer:
Dudes, Ive been playing `46 offline for a few weeks now, and i have a coupe of questions.

How do you get online?, im patched up to 4.08, (except for the dedicated server patches), and ive downloaded Hyperlobby. When i try to tune in to Hyperlobby i get a message saying "unable to find root directory".
Am i missing a patch somewhere? do i need the dedicated server patches, and what is a dedicated server anyway?

Also. totally different question, but is there a tutorial on how to use the full mission bulider as i have no idea on how to build a full mission.

thanks fellas


HELP!!, ive tried all i can think of to get onto hyperlobby as well.. all i keep getting is a message saying Hyperlobby cannot find the installation folder...ive tried got for weeks now to sort this out..and got nowhere..anybody got any ideas?

Roblex
04-29-2007, 02:03 AM
HL is looking for IL2 in a specific directory (I think it looks for "C:\Program Files\Ubisoft\IL-2 Sturmovik\il2.exe") but later versions of the game did not always install there. I have 1946 and it is in "C:\Program Files\Ubisoft\IL-2 Sturmovik 1946\il2fb.exe". I have to choose 'Forgotten Battles' in HL, not IL2. I might have also had to manually adjust the directory it was looking for to take out the '1946 part.

If you have Pacific Fighters it is in another directory entirely and I have a feeling you may even have to rename your EXE. Someone correct me if that last bit is wrong!

Basically HL will tell you what it is looking for and where it is searching so watch carefully and help it go to the right place.

willyvic
04-29-2007, 09:18 AM
This is what will be shown upon intial install. It will most likely default to the "C" drive. If your installation of IL21946 is on another drive then put the drive letter here and select search.
http://www.geocities.com/mompeepers/willyvic/hl1.jpg

If Hyperlobby fails to find the installation I recommend the following. The reason for copy and paste is to preclude user mis-keying.

Right click your desktop icon
http://www.geocities.com/mompeepers/willyvic/hl4.jpg

Select properties.
http://www.geocities.com/mompeepers/willyvic/hl3.jpg

Highlight the target, right click and seclect copy.
http://www.geocities.com/mompeepers/willyvic/hl5.jpg

Launch Hyperlobby.

Right click and paste in game path.
http://www.geocities.com/mompeepers/willyvic/hl6.jpg

Ensure you have Forgotten Battles selected and have put check marks in callsign and password.
http://www.geocities.com/mompeepers/willyvic/hl2.jpg

Good luck.

A complete online help manual is located here:
http://hyperfighter.sk/modules.php?name=Content&pa=showpage&pid=1

WV

dieg777
04-29-2007, 10:29 AM
excellent post willyvic - you should get in touch with eurosnoopy at airwarfare and get him to add it to the knowledgebase as Im sure it will help many others

FlatSpinMan
04-29-2007, 11:01 AM
If you're guiding it maually just be careful that it says Ubi soft not Ubisoft (or vice versa. If you have an old version installed as well as 1946 it might be going to the old one.

muchaclopiec
04-29-2007, 03:59 PM
Hey thanks guys, i had been trying to load IL2 Sturmovik, in the game select table. last night i selected Forgotten Battles..and hey presto it worked!! joined in a few games and got my *** whupped!!

thanks for yor help fellas. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/11.gif

tcalla
04-29-2007, 04:30 PM
I had this problem too. The solution was to pick 'forgotten battles' as the game in hyperlobby, then it finds the right path.