PDA

View Full Version : Looking for tuition/advice on how to use Prop Pitch on P-47...total novice here!

Mysticpuma2003
06-20-2005, 02:14 AM
Guys, I've flown FB now for years, but have just decided to get my hands dirty on the subject of prop pitch. As I pretty much exclusively fly the P-47 (mainly D-27), I'm looking for a little help on starting to use the prop pitch effectively. I'd like to point out, that at this moment all I have done is look at the setting, not even applied it, because I'm not sure how to use it.

So, could I ask anyone with knowledge on this beast to enlighten me as to it's effective use. Thanks for your time...and patience.

BTW I'm using an X-52 so I have plenty of buttons to play with!

Cheers, Neil.

KGr.HH-Sunburst
06-20-2005, 05:59 AM
using prop pitch on the P47 is fairly easy unlike on planes like bf109...

just keep it simple.

-on take off 100% pitch
-i use for cruising between 75-85% pitch and rads open to keep the engine cool for combat, just play with the throttle for speed changes.
-In combat i sometimes go to 100% pitch -110% throttle but that is more for out acceleration or in a zoom climb to get high rpm

- overal in combat prop pitch ranges from 80-100 pitch, just play around with it there is not always a need to go 100% pitch as you in jug will/must have a high entry speed when going into combat.

-Most important is DIVING, when using the 100% pitch and lower the throttle can mean that the prop pitch will work as an airbrake so when you dive and want to get the most of the strongest point of the Jug is lower your propitch so you accelerate in a dive faster, i mostly use about 70% pitch and full throttle in that way you will easy outdive any other LW propplane

-For landing as discribed above just use high prop pitch input and low throttle setting to make pitch work as a brake

Mysticpuma2003
06-20-2005, 06:24 AM