PDA

View Full Version : Please help- molasses-slow gameplay with no apparent reason



Foehammer-1
03-21-2007, 05:10 PM
I encountered a huge convoy that was described as a task force. Now, after sinking 88,000 tons of it, I can't get away. It's not the escorts, I sank all but one. For some reason, the TC does not go above 4x, so i can't get away in respectable time. I am currently about 30-ish kilometers from the convoy (only about 12 ships left now), and I still can't accelerate the TC. Actually, it worked fine at 252x for about 30 seconds, that's how I got my distance. And now it's slow again for no apparent reason. Can anyone please advise on how to solve this?

syndicated_CDN
03-21-2007, 06:17 PM
How deep is the water? In stock sh3 and WAC, when the TC won't go above 4x its because of land proximity.
If it were escourts on you "prey mode", it would be 8x and 32x if your sonar man still hears any noise.

Foehammer-1
03-21-2007, 06:19 PM
MY prey mode is 64x, so is Hunt (Commander) Water is about 40 meters deep, in the shallow area near Halifax. It never happened before. Oh, I meant, I can't go above 4x TC because the game freezes, not becaust it won't let me (orange TC numbers)

relcox
03-21-2007, 06:43 PM
don't know if this is related or not as I am not running "prey mode" but after sinking a multitude of ship in Scapa Flow on my last patrol I too could not get the time compression above x4 even then I was juddery, I was not until I got within 200km of Denmark that I was able to spped it up, it was still very slow with 3mins game time taking about 3-5 secs, took me one 1hr real time to get back to Kiel. I could not figure out any reason for this. So far on my new patrol all is well, puzzling.

syndicated_CDN
03-22-2007, 12:58 AM
does the game freeze to the point to where you can't turn down the TC and have to do the ol' task manager special to shut it down? or can you just bang on the "-" key until TC drops below 4x?
if you dont have to shut it down, i would have to say that this ridiculously large convoy you've encountered is TOO much for your machine. you might just have to wait it out til you get out of range. maybe 30-40km?
perhaps before you start the game up again, open task manager and shut down any non essential processes which are running to free up some CPU time and RAM.

K_Freddie
03-22-2007, 05:41 AM
The TC 'situation' times are editable in the 'Basic.cfg' file. All my times are fast except when I've been detected (=1x). I can't remember exactly what I did as it was longgggg ago. I'll check up tonight when I get home.
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

Foehammer-1
03-22-2007, 08:45 AM
Originally posted by syndicated_CDN:
does the game freeze to the point to where you can't turn down the TC and have to do the ol' task manager special to shut it down? or can you just bang on the "-" key until TC drops below 4x?
if you dont have to shut it down, i would have to say that this ridiculously large convoy you've encountered is TOO much for your machine. you might just have to wait it out til you get out of range. maybe 30-40km?
perhaps before you start the game up again, open task manager and shut down any non essential processes which are running to free up some CPU time and RAM.

Oh God, it doesn't work. The hydrophone can barely pick up the shps now, meaning they are quite a ways off. As I said, it was almost fine when the convoy was ridiculously huge, but now its a lot smaller, and the problem is much worse. I thought it is due to unnecessary ship maneuvering, but they were way out of order beofre I found them as well.
I really don't want to give up this patrol and exit, cause I'm at 88,000 tons, still have 7 torpedoes and almost full deck gun and there might be a passenger liner in NY or Halifax...

Foehammer-1
03-22-2007, 09:25 AM
Okay, I wasted 1.5 hours real time and I can now accelerate the time all the way up to 128x. Still, there is absolutely no ships on hydrophone or planes in sight. And that convoy is at least 200km away now. I wonder what the heck is going on. I'm currently in the deep channel of the St Lawrence river, near Halifax. Weird, I sailed here before, and everything was just fine....