PDA

View Full Version : P-51D engagement envelope help?

Estocade85
11-01-2005, 09:48 AM
I'm starting to play around in some of the full real servers on HL (yes I'm a noob) and I usually fly the P-51D. What engagement envelope I should fly in? I know that the mustang normally flew at high altitudes, but past 5000m I don't see anything on the deck so I can't really dive on somebody and a few minutes later I usually get bounced by a deep-space TA-152. So is it fly super high or fly super low? Need help because I'm getting aggravated lol! Thx

ColoradoBBQ
11-01-2005, 11:14 AM
Fast, very fast, and Supa-fast is the only way to combat in a P-51. The P-51 can engage around 2000 to 4000 meters as long as you employ high energy manuevers and keep the rudder centered. It takes some good situational awareness, good team tactics, and some skill to evade a bandit diving on your six.

SithSpeeder
11-01-2005, 12:04 PM
CObbq is spot on.

Just know (based on WarClouds server stats, 20 planes in the planeset) that the P-51 has the second worst kill-to-death ratio at 0.5 (only ahead of the P-38L Late at 0.38). You WILL get killed more often flying the P-51D than nearly any other plane in rooms such as these and achieve less kills with it.

That being said, it is still a fun challenge to learn to fly and when you do get success with it, it will feel good. You need wingmen who will cover you and each other on comms to even have a remote hope of surviving.

Hope that helps.

* _54th_Speeder *

HayateAce
11-01-2005, 02:26 PM
The P51 in this game has very little resemblance to the combat capability of the real thing. Wait for the next generations SIM for any hope of a realistic P51.

Sharpe26
11-01-2005, 03:04 PM
meh, I think it requires a bit more tweaking still, perhaps a look the effect of the fuel loading in the fm and, if it isn't that perhaps logging more flighttime in learning to understand how the P51 really functioned may help

(mind you, not that I know anything about )