PDA

View Full Version : New player with some questions.

Wachtsseu
01-26-2010, 11:46 AM
Hi I just started playing SH3 a few days ago and I love the game!

It reminds me of Tie Fighter in a way, playing as the 'bad guys.' =D

The tutorial, in my opinion, was not good enough to teach you everything. I'm still a little lost. So I'll get right down to it. Bare with me.

Torpedoes: How the hell do you manually fire them in in laymans terms?

I played through a career patrol yesterday (took me aaallll day to just get to the damn zone). Why are the patrol zones so far away? I just made waypoints and sped the time up but it would go back down everytime I spotted another boat which was like every 10 seconds.

During that patrol I sunk two merchant ships (barely, I had several dud torpedoes- how frusterating!). At the very end when I docked and exited the captains log said I had ZERO tonnage sunk and while it said I had zero torpedoes left it said I sunk nothing.

I got no renown or anything. What a waste. Do I have to radio in or something?

I just tried a new patrol and I have a deck gun this time and my weapons panel shows I have plenty of ammunition but my deck gun has zero shells and I can't seem to find a way to load it, how do I do this?

Same with extra torpedoes on stored out on the hull, how do I get them loaded?

Crew cycling, do I have to do it all manually or do people rest when they need to?

That's it for now, I'm learning a lot by trial and error but I can't figure it all out.

Thank you for your patience and support.

HeavyRabbit
01-26-2010, 12:33 PM
Hi:

The actual manual is quite sparse, frankly.

Go to the second thread from the top:

"Useful Links and Information", then open:

"Manuals, Tools, Mods, Tweaks, Online Flotillas, & Short Stories!!!"

There is a user supported manual that is much more helpful, and even at least two links to targeting which are also very helpful.