PDA

View Full Version : Graphics settings?



Adseh
10-01-2005, 08:41 AM
For some reason my il2 refuses to stay in the same graphics settings, in the video options mode in custom where you can change the texture settings and visibility distance etc. all the settings are on Medium, and high for visibility, it resets every time i restart pf.
i have tried going into the conf.ini file and changing the settings that way but they always go back, Read only is not on, so why wont they stay the way i want them! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif i want it so Texture detail and lighting are set on high but for some reason it just resets itself every game
and i have also tried changing it on the pf set up shortcut you get in the start menu, but with no success

Adseh
10-01-2005, 08:41 AM
For some reason my il2 refuses to stay in the same graphics settings, in the video options mode in custom where you can change the texture settings and visibility distance etc. all the settings are on Medium, and high for visibility, it resets every time i restart pf.
i have tried going into the conf.ini file and changing the settings that way but they always go back, Read only is not on, so why wont they stay the way i want them! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif i want it so Texture detail and lighting are set on high but for some reason it just resets itself every game
and i have also tried changing it on the pf set up shortcut you get in the start menu, but with no success

Adseh
10-01-2005, 04:21 PM
anyone??

Kuna15
10-01-2005, 04:32 PM
In conf.ini (under [window] section) change line SaveAspect=1 to SaveAspect=0. I think that should do it.

FoolTrottel
10-01-2005, 04:41 PM
The only thing I can think of, is that you are using some 'conflicting' settings.

What if you set IL2Setup.exe to the Video Card you are using (as in not-custom settings), and then set the in-game display settings. Does it keep them then?

I know I've seen weird things by editing conf.ini, having very strange results in the in-game display options. (Yeah, it suddenly went to perfect landscape, like I would want to try that with a TI-4200 http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/35.gif)

(-> Whenever changing conf.ini manually, you may not want to enter the in-game display options ever again. This specifically is valid when changing the resolution to one that is not supported by the in-game interface, like 1280x960, as this will reset your resolution and possibly other settings.)

Have you read the IL-2 Setup Explained thread by Covino? (http://forums.ubi.com/eve/ubb.x/a/tpc/f/23110283/m/6651075613/p/1)

Have Fun!
(Oh, and if this does not help, you may consider a post in the Community Help Forum!)

Tully__
10-01-2005, 07:27 PM
Check that conf.ini is not set to read only. Right click on the file and select properties to see if it's set to read only.

Adseh
10-02-2005, 05:08 AM
well save aspect didn't work (doh!)
it's definately not on read only
My card (geforce3) is not on that setup list, there's geforce 2 and then 5 or something, but no 3! (doh)
anymore ideas? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif
thanks btw

FoolTrottel
10-02-2005, 06:34 AM
Geforce3?

What about the option:
Nvdia GeForce 6800/6600/FX/4/3 http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

Have Fun!

Adseh
10-02-2005, 07:44 AM
hmm yes i am blind, i left the ingame settings alone and changed the setup to geforce 3, but the settings are still same, i didn't tamper with them but as soon as i started a game i could see they were all still medium, same as when it was on geforce 2 etc.
Makes no sense! Argh!

FoolTrottel
10-02-2005, 12:04 PM
What happens if you now do change the in game settings?
Still the same effects? (of not saving the settings?)

Good Luck!

Adseh
10-02-2005, 01:01 PM
yup! no change :P
nevermind lol