PDA

View Full Version : Which Graphics Card???



suzley
01-11-2006, 11:35 AM
Hi

I had a problem that my old graphics card cannot cope with this game because of pixel shading At present i have the Gforce 440mx.I posted this problem here yesyerday and have received some great replys.

Can you please advice which card to get, possibly a mid range one and a top end one so i can see the difference in price ect.

Suzanne.F

bunkerratt
01-11-2006, 11:49 AM
welcome to the madness.....as for the graphics card first what type of system are you running?..aka..home built ..dell gateway...hp compaq..and so forth...next is your motherboard capable of only agp or will it support pcie?...there are 2 camps for graphics nvida or ati as far as price..thats a different story..any where from say 70 bucks up to a few hundred...you should go with at least a 128 mb card..if not a 256 card...if you post your system specs it would help alot...motherboard how much power memory and operating system http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

suzley
01-11-2006, 12:19 PM
Hi Bukerratt

Thnx for your quick reply. My system is pentium 4 xp pro 3.08GHz 512Mb of Ram

Gforce 440mx 128mb No idea on motherboard unless you can advice as to where to look on comp to see whati t is called

Advent Computer

Suzanne

JU88
01-11-2006, 01:33 PM
Dont settle for anything less than a Geforce 6600 GT, if necesary (on a tight budget) buy one second hand! Its the best value for money card on the market. Unfortunatly ATI offer nothing of equal performance at the same price. Do it soon.... AGP cards are getting rarer by the month. If you can push the boat out futher then go for either:
a Radeon x800 XT or XL
or
a Geforce 6800 GT or GS

Pay close attention to the version of different cards
geforce Cards with names ending in GT and GS are good!
Radeon cards ending in XT, XL and Pro are good
Avoid any cards ending in TC, LE, SE, MX, these are no good for gaming whatsoever.

DONT worry about weather a card has 128 or 256 RAM it makes little difference, GPU (Graphics processing unit) is everything.

DONT Buy a geforce FX series card!
DONT buy a Radeon 9xxx series card!

These are older generation. becarful - they are still sold new and renamed like V925 which is in fact an fx 5200 (a worthless card for todays games)
The Fx cards were total cack from day 1.
The Radeon 9xxx cards were good (9600 pro and higher), but they are over the hill now.

I also recomend you up your RAM to 1GB, but its much less priority compared to the GFX card

derspiess
01-11-2006, 01:58 PM
FWIW, SHIII runs great on my el cheapo (<$50) Radeon 9250 128MB card I bought when I built my system a year ago. I'm sure there is *some* room for improvement, but I don't really do much graphics-intensive gaming, so I didn't want to buy more than I needed (particularly since I was building my system on a shoestring budget http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif )

Just my $.02

vanjast
01-11-2006, 02:07 PM
Suzley, for some reason I think it's either IL2, SH3 or DX10 don't like the MMX cards. I'm running and Nvidia5700 with 256MB Vram, which is a bit oldish but works OK. I'm sitting on a P4 3.0Ghz with 1GB Dram.

I think your problem is the G-Card. "A new toy arriving for easter"?? Before easter that is http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

doug.d
01-11-2006, 11:46 PM
Originally posted by JU88:
The Radeon 9xxx cards were good (9600 pro and higher), but they are over the hill now.
HEY!! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif Leave my 9700 Pro out of this!! Geez, here I thought you were a friend!?! http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif
Actually, it handles SH3 well and only stutters in port (I suppose the jerking could be from the lewd thing the Watch Officer is doing behind the conn as he watches the nurse he was with last night waving goodbye http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/icon_twisted.gif).

However, you are correct http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/cry.gif it is creaking quite a lot with games like FEAR. I have my eye on an ASUS EAX1800XT TOP or equivalent and to build a new AMD64 X2 "engine room" around it.

VikingGrandad
01-12-2006, 04:57 AM
When I eventually get my new motherbaord and processor, I was looking to get a Sapphire X800GTO (http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/products/index.html?action=c2hvd19wcm9kdWN0X292ZXJ2aWV3&product_uid=97159), but then I heard about the GTO2 version (http://www.pcw.co.uk/personal-computer-world/hardware/2147806/sapphire-radeon-x800gto2), which can be overclocked to give the performance of a more powerful card (X850XT). Do any of you guys know if the GTO or GTO2 (overclocked or not) are worth considering?

The GTO2's are, unsurprisingly, very hard to find.

bunkerratt
01-12-2006, 10:30 AM
not shure about the gto.. i run an x800xl ..and use ATITool to clock it with...

Kaleun1961
01-12-2006, 08:23 PM
Bump your RAM up to at least 1 GB. 512 is not really adequate to run this game well.

suzley
01-13-2006, 01:18 AM
Hi
Thnx for all your input...very interesting. I am looking at 3 cards at the moment

1.256MB PCI-Express nVidia GeForce 6800 with DVI

2.2x 256MB PCI-Express nVidia GeForce 6800 DVI/TV

3.256MB PCIe nVidiaT GeForce 7800GTX

I am assuming tha t the 3rd card is the best but are the other 2 just as good for running games ect and have the capability to run SH3 in order that i can play.

Suzanne....waiting in anticipation teheheh.

bunkerratt
01-13-2006, 01:32 AM
glad to see you did some research..i'm a red vid card type {ati}..but fear not i'm shure the green card types {nvida} will have athe best advice on your choices...also as k-61 posted...another stick of 512 memory will vastly improve you systems performance..sh3 loves ram...good luck good hunting...wating to hear how things work out for you...my wife is enjoying sh3 on her system also...good to see the number of ladys increasing here ..with you avon / chyrstine and my wife i belive it's 4-5 ..cool

Tontoman666
01-13-2006, 02:44 AM
Viking... here's the GTO info you wanted.

http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/100

It's easy, bios hacked my X850 from 12 pipes to 16 and run ATItool. Didn't get much of a Mhz GPU overclock but that's luck of the draw. Mem was decent at +40Mhz

BTW, SHIII with 6x AA on is very nice. No jaggies and all the ropes/wires on the ships stay solid and don't break up http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

T.

VikingGrandad
01-14-2006, 05:21 AM
Originally posted by Tontoman666:
Viking... here's the GTO info you wanted.

http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/100

It's easy, bios hacked my X850 from 12 pipes to 16 and run ATItool. Didn't get much of a Mhz GPU overclock but that's luck of the draw. Mem was decent at +40Mhz

BTW, SHIII with 6x AA on is very nice. No jaggies and all the ropes/wires on the ships stay solid and don't break up http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

T.
Thanks Tontoman. I think I will probably get a GTO2 cos I've now found somewhere that has them in stock http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gif

I've just got to find the funds to get a new motherboard, CPU, coolers and PSU. I'm a little nervous about re-building my PC and overclocking the GFX card cos I've only installed RAM, disk drives and expansion cards before. It will be worth the learning curve though, so I can get 6xAA in SH3 and play Call of Duty 2 with all the eye candy switched on http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

bunkerratt
01-14-2006, 11:51 AM
it's not as hard as it looks ..lol..once you you build your own you will never ..never ..stop laughing at factory systems..i have my x800xl runing 6x anti aliasing with temporal on antistropic is 8x mipmap is full over catalyst a.i is full over too..the core is just tickled to 420.43 runs fine and have it's fan running on %100 http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/25.gif

DiveDevil
01-15-2006, 08:00 AM
MX cards are junk. By the way do your officers have tie dyed uniforms with the MX? Mine did. I bumpd up to a 5200 (tight budget) and if fixed the problem but only temporary. Next I went to an 128MB FX6200 ($60) but still wouldn't run some of my other games all that well. I finaly picked up a 256Mb 8x AGP 6600 (not the GT though) and everything works great. I'm running an older system with a socket A proc on an old MSI KT6v mobo with 512Mb but it gets the job done and does it well enough for me. Looking to build my mobo and proc up next. One toy at a time, I don't make enough to compleatly revamp my system. But yea you need a game card and thats that. Basicly what everyone else has said, just figured I'd talk from experience with the same issue.
Theres my two cents; now I'm broke again.