PDA

View Full Version : Scapa Flow in career mode



Idaho1802
03-21-2005, 05:01 AM
Well in 1940 I managed to go in scapa flow during a storm. Now I am inside. I can see scapa port lights, but where are these ****ed battleships?

Does someone know if we can go inside an harbor during a career and sink a ship?

Is there a mean to sink battleships in scapa flow during a career mode? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_confused.gif

JHKotcher
03-21-2005, 11:12 AM
One of my first patrols was in the sector including scapa flow. I went in at night with high seas and found a Hunt class DDs patroling the outer area just past the first coastal search light. Sank one and ran like a little girl. I don't know if there are more ships deeper in or not.

Fishu
03-21-2005, 12:19 PM
I had a mission to near by sector, which after I decided to take a look into Scapa Flow.

I didn't expect much, but instead I found HMS Illustrious and two auxiliary cruisers http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Phil_C
03-21-2005, 12:50 PM
Yea i did the same thing JH did, but with much less scussess..

i had to run fast and deep
and pray he would go away lol

i think i maxed out the air tank just waiting for them to run out of ammo or get tired lol

Scapa Flow is definately a fun place to be too cause the weather is just miserable http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

Maj_Death
03-21-2005, 01:08 PM
I managed to sneak into a british harbour once so far (out of 1 attempt http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif ). It was not Scapa Flow but still I expected to find some ships there. After about 10 minutes of searching it I gave up and left. Didn't find a single boat there. **** shame I did this in a type IIA, if I had a VII I could have atleast tested the effects of shelling the place.

Frederf220
03-21-2005, 01:15 PM
I'm surprised you found ships in a harbor, because the game normally spawns ships a few KM from either port destination or origin. They pop into existence outside the origin harbor and sail near the destination harbor (but not inside) then disapper.

ncsavoj
03-21-2005, 01:40 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Frederf220:
I'm surprised you found ships in a harbor, because the game normally spawns ships a few KM from either port destination or origin. They pop into existence outside the origin harbor and sail near the destination harbor (but not inside) then disapper. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Hopefully that will change soon. Devs said something aobut maybe patching it so harbors have ships in them, at docks and sailing out. Even hinted at having some german ships and uboats in and around german ports.

SubZeroCo
03-21-2005, 02:16 PM
Dont Go To LiverPool Went And All I found were two fast little anoying patrol boats but the views nice and uh the patrol boats well they rest in peace. : p

madsarmy
03-21-2005, 02:45 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by SubZeroCo:
Dont Go To LiverPool Went And All I found were two fast little anoying patrol boats but the views nice and uh the patrol boats well they rest in peace. : p <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I was waiting in the dark just off shore of Liverpool & had to pop back down to the command room to get my binoculars. When I got back to the bridge the deck gun & compass were gone.
Ain't that the way?http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

spacefrogs
03-22-2005, 04:24 AM
Normally there are ships in Scapa Flow but not always and not always the same. Two times I went in, the first saw a battleship and a cruiser, the second 5-6 destroyers.