PDA

View Full Version : wakes and comander questions



Minoos
11-23-2006, 06:54 AM
How bad? Any hope to get help from us!<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/7010/u46progressik8.jpg

general_kalle
11-23-2006, 11:37 AM
evry thing else works fine??
what happens if you click"play"??<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

what have you got to lose?
You know, you come from nothing - you're going back to nothing.
What have you lost? Nothing!) -life of Brian

bunkerratt
11-23-2006, 11:56 AM
what seems to be the malfunction?<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c40/bunkerratt/Kensnewsigrevised.jpg
http://i24.photobucket.com/albums/c40/bunkerratt/voted.jpg http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k258/gndpdr/omegadriversnet_logo.gif
"the blurry images show man bent over with his pants down and a white flash as the firecracker exploded."

KaleunFreddie
11-23-2006, 04:09 PM
Me sad too http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/bigtears.gif

What have you been doing .... http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/shady.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://www.bomber-command.info/medalbc.jpg

stabiz
11-23-2006, 04:48 PM
Well, bringing your PC to the bathtub with you may add some immersion, but at some point bad things happen.

mariuszj1939
11-24-2006, 12:17 AM
Thanks Kaleuns !
SH3 is loading partly and then crashing. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/compsmash.gif
Something is wrong with Windows registry.
Everything else was already checked - no virus,
PC is recognizing DVD (no Stareforce problem)etc.


What have you been doing ....
I have done nothing.
You know just 3 days outside home and nobody from family is guilty http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif

splitter1952
11-26-2006, 03:39 PM
wakes
i started the sim again this evening and i noticed that i had no wakes anymore, what can the reason be?
comander
i installed comander so should The mods file be in the silent hunter file or on the desk top?When i activated some mods they ended up on the screen!!
splitter

splitter1952
11-26-2006, 03:39 PM
wakes
i started the sim again this evening and i noticed that i had no wakes anymore, what can the reason be?
comander
i installed comander so should The mods file be in the silent hunter file or on the desk top?When i activated some mods they ended up on the screen!!
splitter

Churruca1977
11-28-2006, 12:00 PM
Hello, Im new to the forum. I recently installed the game n Im starting to get vicious on it http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif . I??m on my 14 patrol (1940) with my bran new VII U-boot. Sometimes my radio man reports that he received a radio message but the I tell him to report that message and he tells me that there are no messages received :?
- How do I read incoming radio messages (in the log only appears "radio message received")
- Whats the better way to fight fast torpedo boats?
- What are the torpedo ranges according speed?

Thxs in advance http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Minoos
11-28-2006, 12:23 PM
Press M key to read your radio messages.
In the weapons screen ( I Key ) select a torpedo to have the full specs.
Be aware that the tip color of a torpedo is very helpful.

Enjoy SH3<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/7010/u46progressik8.jpg

lummet
11-28-2006, 12:33 PM
hi,

- press m for radio messages.

and usually i dont duel with fast torpedo ships
or such ships that are there to kill/sink me.

T1 gas torpedo speed setting(s):
fast = 5 km, medium = 7,5km, slow = 12,5km
T2 electic has range of 3km.

and press f1 for help command window.
(ingame)

Kaleun1961
11-28-2006, 01:04 PM
If the weather is not too rough for manning guns, I get on the flak gun manually and use it to destroy those pesky Elco boats. If you wish to fire your flak guns on surface targets, you have to man the flak gun yourself, as the computer controlled flak gunners will not engage a surface target.

The flak gun is a handy item to use on small vessels, as it saves precious deck gun ammo or even more valuable torpedoes. The 20mm flak gun can destroy fishing boats, trawlers, tugs and Elco boats. I've heard that the 37mm flak gun can destroy a small merchant vessel, but I've no certainty as to what it can sink aside from the small vessels I have already mentioned. Of course, this method applies to the original game. I'm not quite sure how the NYGM Tonnage War mod or the Grey Wolves mod affect the lethality of the flak gun versus surface vessels. I assume the thing to do is the same with the deck gun: aim for at or below the waterline of the target and sink it by causing flooding of the hull.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a299/K-61/Miscellaneous/K61-cropped.jpg

Realjambo
11-28-2006, 02:19 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/agreepost.gif

You'd be mad to waste a torp or deck gun on the Elco's. Flak gunning them is your best bet - mind you they'll weave aroud and use their high speed to their advantage.

One thing you have in your favour, if the Elco is already alight (it's been discussed on here, from memory their real life fuel line and fuel tank weaknesses are modelled n the game) then you may be lucky enough in that they'll sink anyway. Failing that, if it's night time, at least an Elco aflame makes for an esier target to aim at!.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v642/antsmith/posted-sig.jpg http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v642/antsmith/november-ssc.jpg

Minoos
11-28-2006, 02:35 PM
I don't understand...
Last week I did hit 4 times an Elco with my deck gun and it never sank or blew -up. Flak gun did not seem to do much damage! Lost patience and had to dive to focus on my main objective, raiding Lock Ewe.
Maybe next time http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/7010/u46progressik8.jpg

Michiel_88
11-28-2006, 03:54 PM
Those acoustic homing torpedoes seem to love elco boats. http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_mad.gif ...instead of going after the dangerous destroyer<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q121/Michiel_88/signature.jpg
http://www.geocities.com/michieldeclercq/entered.jpg

Churruca1977
11-29-2006, 02:02 AM
Thxs for the answers...

One more question, How do flare shells work? do I have to shoot over the ship so the light make the ship profile visible or do I have to shoot the ship directly?

Realjambo
11-29-2006, 02:10 AM
Aim above the ship so that the starshells flaot down above the ship. You may have to fire a few to get the range and angle right. You can get some 'pretty' effects!<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v642/antsmith/posted-sig.jpg http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v642/antsmith/november-ssc.jpg

Churruca1977
11-29-2006, 06:02 AM
there must be sumthing wrong with the flares coz if I shoot em on daylight they bright like a supernova but when I shoot em during night they dont bring absolutely.

Other more question, what are the external torpedo reserves for?

Can I call for support if I??m following a yummy convoy and dont want to attack on my own (specially if low on torpedos)?

Jose.MaC
11-29-2006, 06:09 AM
The flares are pretty useless. During night, is the perfect way to give away your position. As a gun rounds, they dont make too much harm.

The external torpedo reserves are to carry more torpedoes. Once you shoot your inner torpedoes, you must surface and drag those external torpedoes inside your ship (inside the inner torpedoes reserves, but not directly to your torpedo tubes). Remember, you must move fore ext to fore in, aft ext to aft in. It may take some hours, to move just one of those with full rested crew.

About support: yes, you can and you will. If you're close enought to land bases, they may send some bombers to help you. Of course, you will not get credit for their sinkings. It works better close to france. If you feel you're too far away, dont send the support call since you're giving away your position.

Churruca1977
11-29-2006, 07:15 AM
It is supposed that several u-boots are patroling the atlantic. So..lets say I only got 4 torpedos left and I spotted a large convoy (12 ships)...so I set myself in a safety range from the convoy not to be spotted and follow them whyle I call for the nearest U-boot to join the attack...maybe I have to wait for 12 hours for him to reach the convy but I thing it would be worth it.

Kaleun1961
11-29-2006, 10:05 AM
Sadly, that is the one glaring defect with this game: there is no interaction with other U-boats. You are effectively all on your own. You cannot get a wolf pack going because the game features no computer controlled subs. The only way to get other subs in the game is to play online in multiplayer mode, which is not the same thing as playing SH3 in campaign mode. I really don't know why <b style="color:black;background-color:#a0ffff">Ubi[/b] didn't put other subs into the game, other than to guess they were rushed for time to get the game to market. It's not as if it can't be done; Aces of the Deep had them back in the days of DOS. And even worse, it is reported that SH4 won't feature other subs than your own.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a299/K-61/Miscellaneous/K61-cropped.jpg

Jose.MaC
11-29-2006, 02:58 PM
Well, there is a mod that puts AI subs. But don't know if ad those to the campaing or just to missions. And those subs aren't too clever, anyway.

Kaleun1961
11-29-2006, 03:05 PM
As far as I know, they aren't very useful. They don't operate intelligently, and don't fire torpedoes, but simulated torpedoes by emulating a battleship's gun. No slight on the modder who developed them, but because of game coding, that is the best that could be done.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a299/K-61/Miscellaneous/K61-cropped.jpg

Churruca1977
11-30-2006, 12:32 AM
I really thank you all for the answers Im really enjoying the game.
More questions:

- How the fu** do electric torpedoes works? yesterday I was trying to get rid of a DD Destroyer escorting a convoy but as he was zigzagging It was impossible to hit. Even at 700m with steam torpedos at fast setup. Then I shoot a couple of electric torpedoes with the same effect. Arent they supposed to follow target accoustically?

mariuszj1939
11-30-2006, 02:12 AM
What to do - I started new career !
(frankly speaking once again exams at Academy are very funny) http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-mad.gif<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://img209.imageshack.us/img209/504/may2006nu1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)
http://img226.imageshack.us/img226/1623/37tg0.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

AdolphMeinhard
11-30-2006, 11:17 AM
I know the feeling about the academy-my Sh3 started acting up with GW (always giving me the same scenario) SO i downloaded it and reinstalled. I was amazed at well I did in the academy! Ha Ha A little refresher for an experienced Kaleun, I think I showed the instructors a thing or two! A.M.<div class="ev_tpc_signature">

http://i57.photobucket.com/albums/g226/rebelbagby/kaiser1.jpg

SIC SEMPER TYRANNIS