PDA

View Full Version : dumb question on running a dedicated server (FB+AEP+PF)



llama_thumper
11-28-2004, 01:36 PM
how do i do it? do i have to launch the game and select multiplay, etc, or can I just run it via an .exe file?

Tully__
11-29-2004, 06:29 AM
Dedicated server software is not yet released for PF / PFmerged installs. Wait 'til after the big "add-on" patch.

Troll2k
11-29-2004, 10:18 AM
The dedicated server software runs on a dedicated machine in a dos box.There is no video and no audio.You can not play from that machine.(hence the name dedicated)

Install Hyperlobby on the dedicated machine.Make a new name (usually what you want to call your server)in HyperLobby.Then log in with the new name.Then launch your server like normal in one of the dog mission rooms.

Remember the settings for the dedicated server are set in the server.cmd file,not the HL settings box.