PDA

View Full Version : Tempest wing trims!!!!



CHDT
02-16-2006, 05:35 AM
They are not working for me!!!!

And for you?

CHDT
02-16-2006, 05:35 AM
They are not working for me!!!!

And for you?

WOLFMondo
02-16-2006, 05:45 AM
I don't think it has aileron trim.

The flaps are odd though. I have a Tempest hydraulics film which is a training film and it says the Tempest has only flaps up and flaps down. It might its only showing this in regards to the hydraulic testing but its something that might needs some research.

stathem
02-16-2006, 06:29 AM
I was looking at a cutaway drawing of a Tempest V yesterday (sorry can't post it, it's on my HD at home) and it definately has Aileron trim tabs.

luftluuver
02-16-2006, 06:30 AM
The Tempest only had rudder and elevator trim according to the Tempest Pilot Notes.

The flaps were 3 postion, up, down and intermediate.

You can get the Pilot Notes here,
http://www.dauntless-soft.com/PRODUCTS/Freebies/Handlin...craftinfo.asp?ID=169 (http://www.dauntless-soft.com/PRODUCTS/Freebies/HandlingNotes/aircraftinfo.asp?ID=169)

CHDT
02-16-2006, 06:40 AM
Yep, but how to fly this thing in the sim without wing trims? It's highly uncomfortable.

I doubt a real-life Tempest pilot would have enjoyed to fly it this way.

3.JG51_BigBear
02-16-2006, 07:14 AM
I don't know if it was done the same way, but the Focke Wulf had aileron trim tabs that were set by the ground crew after flight testing. Maybe the Tempest's worked the same way?

p1ngu666
02-16-2006, 07:33 AM
yep, aliron trim would be set on the ground, was enuff to have rudder trim variable to keep u straight and level at various speed ranges, just not ingame http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

iirec when they adusted spits aliron trim they used a rubber hammer to adust the alirons slightly

VW-IceFire
02-16-2006, 10:57 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by stathem:
I was looking at a cutaway drawing of a Tempest V yesterday (sorry can't post it, it's on my HD at home) and it definately has Aileron trim tabs. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Aileron trim tabs were set on the ground like with the Spitfire. It was the job of the test pilot to ensure that the tabs were properly trimmed for each aircraft prior to being issued to an operational unit or to a reserve pool.

Usually they'd go for a flight, test the aircraft, make notes on how much it drifted at optimal cruise speed, request the adjustment on the ground and then retest (sometimes not always) to ensure that the trimming had been completed.

To keep a Tempest straight and level you need to make sure that you trim elevator and rudder correctly (use the slip indicator in the cockpit to ensure that the rudder is properly trimmed) and try to run at about 80% throttle so you aren't generating as much torque.

Aviar
02-16-2006, 11:14 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by CHDT:
Yep, but how to fly this thing in the sim without wing trims? It's highly uncomfortable.

I doubt a real-life Tempest pilot would have enjoyed to fly it this way. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

You need to use rudder trim. Even so, you'll find that the Tempest needs constant attention to trim.

Aviar

Jaws2002
02-16-2006, 11:42 AM
I noticed is almost as hard to trim as the IAR-80/81. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/bigtears.gif

jds1978
02-16-2006, 12:00 PM
if you don't trim correct expect a nasty spin http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_eek.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/sadeyes.gif http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/53.gif

WOLFMondo
02-16-2006, 12:46 PM
I really don't like the Spitfires lack of aileron trim, its one reason why I don't choose to fly it but the Tempests is set up pretty nicely.